sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


all we need is a really deep breath, a good dance floor and a sing-along song... ~ 2000-11-13 - 02:25:24

last night the moon was full and I DANCED. walking away from several hours in front of the computer, I was kidnapped by jeff and tim, two of my boulder creek friends, and we went to henfling's to see The Motet. fantastic band, all kindsa drums, afro-cuban rhythms and endless improvisations, even a funk current... there's music that takes me and dances blisters into my feet. I am possessed, no longer in control. I just let go. I can dance all night like that, the music moving through me and flooding like light from every pore on my body. there are things in this world I will only do barefoot if I can help it. dancing is one. performing poetry is another. they are both a kind of offering up, a kind of prayer. I want to be as rooted in the earth as I can.

I'm known at henfling's. this is traditionally a redneck mountain biker bar kind of place-- henfling's firehouse tavern is the full name of the place. but henfling's has also keyed into the music scene here (dead/tribe/bluegrass/folk/psychedelic), and they book kickass music. they book the kind of music that dances me wild. so when I walk in the door there now, the regulars say "hey, dancing girl!" it makes me giggle every time.

I should say that I've only really been going to henfling's much since this past summer. that's when I realized that there hadn't been enough music and dancing in my life for quite some time. I came to that realization while working for steven and mongo at the high sierra music festival. I was just flooded with great bands I'd never heard before. I hadn't really been keyed into the whole hippie tribal scene for quite a while, and high sierra was kind of my grand re-entry. ever since then, I've been making it a priority to get myself out to see good music. I've seenn some great bands at henfling's this past summer and fall-- The Motet, Hanuman, The Asylum Street Spankers, Tha MuseMeant, which is one of my very favorites at the moment. check them out, they're really special. bluegrassy, folksy, cosmic... a mix of different styles. Aimee Curl on bass and vocals is amazing-- she yodels, and just has this amazing voice with an incredible range. she was at the Motet show last night, helping them out with merch, and I was really happy to run into her. she's really sweet. and she took the stage with the band and lent her vocals to an improvisational jam they were doing. really, I'm somewhat in love with everyone in Tha MuseMeant. I got to hang out with them after their last gig at henfling's, got to hang on the bus and listen to dave and nathan jam... something about dave's eyes just draws me in... and the next day I was like a 16 year old girl-- guess what I did last night!! there are a lot of musicians in my life right now, I am surrounded by music. I dance as much as I need to. as a matter of fact, I can feel in my shoulderblades the soreness I will wake up with tomorrow. it feels like I'm growing wings.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))