sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


like the burning of my heart... ~ September 25, 2002 - 12:37 p.m.

this is something I wrote for my various sacred family e-mail lists... I decided to post it here, too, because more than anything it gives a sense of what life is like up on the mountain right now.

***

dearest fire family--

because you know the awesome power of fire to purify and heal as well as to destroy and cleanse, I am reaching out to you now.

the yoga community which I call home is in danger. we are a few miles away from an extremely large wildfire as I write this. the air is filled with smoke and ash and everything is bathed in this otherworldly yellow light from the sun filtering through the smoke. it catches at your throat, irritates your eyes.

the buddhist monastery one mile down the road was evacuated last night, but we haven't been yet. the fire is close, as close as two or three miles, but it hasn't yet crossed to our side of the road. they don't know if it will-- it's moving slowly right now, and they may have it contained before it becomes a real danger to our land.

but we are preparing... everyone is packing and sorting, trying to decide what among their possessions is essential. this is something I've never had to do before, to decide what I could not afford to lose. it's an interesting exercise, you might try it sometime.

I spent the morning on a crew, training to (wo)man a hose if and when the fire reaches us. with the help of our own volunteer fire department, the CDF crews, and trained community members, we are going to try to defend our most essential buildings.

this community is deeply inspiring. we are working together and with our neighbors all along the ridge, to support each other and organize our resources. we have periodic meetings to keep everyone informed, volunteers staffing the command center 24 hours, folks in the kitchen making sandwiches for the crews.

I'm asking for your energy, your prayers, and your love. keep us in your hearts, and I will let you know how things develop.

I gathered for a circle with a beautiful group of women last night, and we drummed and sang our prayers into the earth... and at some point I had a revelation, thinking about the sacred fire and the power of fire to purify and transform. we have a GIGANTIC sacred fire on the mountain... what an incredible opportunity for purification! I am working at letting go of anything that's been holding me back, doing my will and being of service to my community.

the other thing that happened last night was that I went looking for a bandanna to wet and tie around my face for the smoke. sometimes it's relatively clear, but sometimes it gets very thick, tiny white ashes like snowflakes drifting down. it all depends on the wind. the only bandanna I could find was the one I'd tied ashes from the sacred fire into at the end of firedance. my first thought was 'oh, I can't use this,' and my second thought was 'OF COURSE I should use this!'

so I put the ashes in a vessel and set it one one of the altars, with a prayer and some meditation on the power of fire to heal, and a request for safety for all beings on the mountain. then I washed out the bandanna and tied it around my neck, where it lives until the crisis is over. I breath in your love when the smoke gets too thick. I love you, my family, you burn in me still.

please keep us in your prayers...

blessings and thanks~

Kelly

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))