sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


happy birthday lucas! ~ June 26, 2002 - 9:35 p.m.

I woke up today feeling much better. I think spending two days in bed and megadosing on vitamin c was good for me.

I'm feeling kinda wiped out now, though. I'm not quite over it yet.

pulling together all the details of my life that need to get taken care of before I leave for high sierra on tuesday. I can't wait. I just hope I'm totally recovered by then. at high sierra I work 15 hours a day and then go out and play at night. there's no use trying to pull that off with a compromised immune system. it's all about adrenaline and sleep dep.

a new ysc group just started, too. I think I've explained this before, but for clarity's sake: yoga, service and community (ysc), is the program through which the yoga center introduces folks to the community. you come here to stay for 6 weeks, live and work in the community, and you get some classes and discussions on the basics of ashtanga yoga. after 6 weeks, you have the option to extend. I'm ysc 3 at this point-- and really, at this point, I'm here indefinitely. I can't think of anyplace else I'd rather be. so I'm here until it seems like it's time for me to leave. after I finish ysc 3, I'll just become a "community member", living here on a month-to-month basis.

so the new ysc 1 people have arrived, bringing new energy, along with all the folks doing the yoga teacher's training intensive. that's a lot of new people. and it's fun to introduce myself by my sanskrit name.

some people actually remember to call me urvasi, and I love it when they do. it's still hard for a lot of people to remember, but they'll get it. all the sanskrit names are weird until you get used to them. and I guess mine is unusual-- even bhavani, who is a sanskrit scholar and has lived here since the community began 24 years ago, had never heard it before. it's special. it's mine. I love it.

today is lucas, my older nephew's, birthday. so hard to believe he's ten. I called him, and he's totally starting to sound like a little street hipster. I miss him. that's one of the only things that's hard about living in california, is knowing that my nephews are growing up without me.

I also got an e-mail from my sister today, and she is totally, completely, ecstatically in love, for the first time ever, at the age of 33. I am just so happy. she's been through so much shit with so many horrible men. I really hope that this one continues to make her so happy. she deserves some real happiness in her life, after how hard she's worked to raise those two little boys all by herself. she's had a hard road.

alright, I'm really feeling the sick girl vibe coming back. off to bed.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))