sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


dancing at the end of the world ~ 2001-03-11 - 02:35:52

thursday night the world ended, and I was there to see it.

my tribespeople and I, at the edge of the world, dancing.

if you had a dream so beautiful you would wake up tangled in visions and disbelief.

if you had a vision so true you would laugh at the sunrise until tears rolled down your face.

a night's journey so deep and wild that language won't capture it, no matter how I stretch and bend and lace the words.

me and the night and the highway and the ocean... it was the moon calling me, and the waves... I was seeking a stretch of sky and a strip of sand and something like family.

Serendipity: n. The faculty of making fortunate and unexpected discoveries by accident.

I found a stretch of sky and a strip of sand and the rhythms of the ocean and I found moontribe.

moontribe, and they were dancing.

I was on my own journey and so were each of them, but we were all there together at the end of the world, and we were dancing. the DJs spun all night, the fires burned in the darkness, the firedancers whirled and the tribe howled when the moon came out from behind the clouds.

my own road that night was too long and winding and deep to give to words. I travelled through some hard darkness and hell realms, where there were demons and souls with skulls showing through their faces. but there were angels too, and they held me when I was frightened, breathed with me when breath failed me, fed me chocolate and blood oranges and water.

there were times when the only thing I had to hold on to was a perverse faith that the sun would rise, like it had every other day of my life. the sun will rise, I told my brothers and sisters, just like it does every day. I told them this, although I didn't always believe it. sometimes you need to have faith in something you can't quite believe in. something as easy and impossible as the rising of the sun.

but before the sun there was the moon, huge and yellow, low in a brilliant lavender sky, flooding the ocean with opalescence and the cove with an unearthly light. I had never seen anything so beautiful as the end of the world. and the tribe, dancing, dancing, overflowing with our love for each other and the earth which birthed us, laughing, crying, howling, the knights and jesters and trickster devils and medicine women and motherspirits and warrior maidens.

the sun came over the cliffs with a light so sweet and clear and pure that the dancers became golden spirits and I danced the wild joy of faith blossoming into truth: the sun had come up, just like it did every day. my tribespeople and I were there at the end of the world, and with faith and love and belief in the possibility of joy we danced the sun into the sky.

morning found us in sleepening circles around fading fires, dancers slowing as the music softened, and we spoke in unguarded truths and open, easy smiles. we were wide open and filled with light. the tides of night and fire had landed me in the sweetwarm arms of a golden boy with dreamwater eyes, and in their soft circle it was easy to believe in the sunrise.

the world came to an end, and we were there, my tribespeople and I, knowing that there was nothing left to do but to love each other and dance the sun into the sky.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))