sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


moving day ~ March 1, 2003 - 3:56 p.m.

I was waking up lazily this morning, it being saturday and me not having any weekend commitments, when someone knocked on the door. it was one of the men who does some work for the school. moving day, he said, and walked away. people were walking through the house, carrying boxes. my housemate, susan, walked out of her room, which was full of half-packed suitcases.

what's going on? I asked her.

that's how I found out that I'm moving.

apparently, the school has to let go of the house I've been living in. and for some reason, we're all just getting the news now. susan found out last night. I don't know how long the chinese family, the lees, have known.

although a few phone calls determined that today is not actually moving day for me. they're not quite sure what to do with me yet. there's a room I can have in noemi's house, but someone's staying in it for a few weeks. so the plan right now is for me to stay where I am for the rest of the weekend. on monday, I'll talk to ma'am bay about where to go. I may wind up staying with her and damien until something else opens up for me. she and damien are my bosses. I'm not wildly comfortable with the idea, but I'm sure that it will be fine.

the whole thing's really unsettling, though. I was just enjoying my house and my room way too much.

and now I don't get to watch the puppies grow up, after all. before I left the house today, I gave mama dog a long cuddle. and the puppies too. I've been checking on them every day, and mama dog and I have gotten close, even though I can't seem to remember the name the lees have given her. she lets me pet the puppies, pick them up. some people she won't even let come near.

I'm sure it'll all be good. just a bit of upheaval in my sweet lao-living world.

I haven't been online lately because I've been broke, which is a bit of stress as well. we only get paid once a month here, and since I arrived not long before payday, I don't get a full month's pay until this next one. which is in about a week, so really I'm okay. I got them to advance me some of my salary, but I can't get much more or I won't have enough to live on for the next month. things are tremendously cheap, but all the little stuff does add up sometimes. I've stopped riding tuk-tuks for the most part. mainly I go to namphou, the backpacker quarter, anyway, and it's not too far to walk. it's a longish walk, but not bad. I come here to use the internet at the place with the fast machines and to watch movies at restaurant saignam. I've been watching a ridiculous amount of movies. but hey, I like movies. what the hell.

I'd better get off before this starts getting expensive... you'll hear a lot more from me after I get paid, I promise.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))