sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


reiki master at the scandinavian bakery ~ February 9, 2003 - 6:00 p.m.

so I've decided to learn reiki...

it's something I've been thinking about for some time. from what I've heard, it's actually quite likely that some of the energy work I've done instinctually is reiki. the idea of pursuing training has been swimming around at the back of my mind... and then I saw a flyer for workshops in vientiane. first level reiki initiations for $70, a two-day workshop. that's less than I'd pay for it in the US. my only reservation was feeling like I needed to know that the teacher was truly someone I resonated with. I didn't want to jump in with just anyone.

and then, this morning, I was sitting on the patio of the scandinavian bakery. drinking iced coffee lao and reading a week-old bangkok post. (it's actually illegal to sell it at newsstands here, although you can get it by subscription.)

a woman came in and posted a flyer on the bulletin board behind me-- I looked up and saw that it was the same flyer, about the reiki workshops.

excuse me, I said, but are those your workshops?

she told me that they were, and I told her I'd been considering it, and she sat down to talk with me for a bit.

her name is elif, and her energy just absolutely vibrates. and resonate I did, to her energy, her manner, her huge beautiful eyes. she wears a shaved head and burgundy robes in the manner of a nun. she is from turkey originally, but lives now in kathmandu. runs a charity which trains people in nepal to write grants and project proposals, empowering them to secure funds for developing their communities in positive ways. they are thinking of opening a branch of this charity in vientiane, and also in vietnam and cambodia. the cost of the workshops will go to further this goal.

it was what I needed, in order to decide. it's time for me to learn reiki, and I think that this woman is the one to initiate me.

life just feels so filled with growth and energy for me here. everything just feels so possible.

just so.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))