sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the horror ~ March 19, 2003 - 7:27 p.m.

I'm feeling that nauseated, suffocating panic again. that feeling of how is this being allowed to happen?

HOW???

I just don't understand. two thirds of americans surveyed say that they support bush in his latest damn war ultimatum. the one he gave when he didn't get to go to war over the last one.

because the weapons inspectors didn't find a damn thing.

and I just got done reading how they're angry. angry that he's cut short their work, angry that they were sent down so many blind alleys following up the bunk "evidence" the administration produced.

no one wants this war. the UN doesn't want this war. the allies don't want this war. THERE'S NO GOOD FUCKING REASON FOR THIS WAR.

and yet. two thirds of the american people support him. twenty one percent of those aren't sure war's the right answer, but they support him anyway.

WHY???

why the fuck would you follow someone into death and destruction when you don't even think he's right? the man is not only evil, he's stupid, and yet the majority of americans will follow him down any damn ugly road he creates.

I don't understand. I just don't. I know so many good, smart, beautiful, righteous, peace-loving american people. where the hell does this mass ignorance come from? I mean, I know that we're trained to accept the media propaganda from the first day we open our eyes in this world, but so many people know better than to believe what they're fed.

why doesn't everyone? I mean, it just seems obvious.

they impeached clinton for getting head. they'll probably give the shrub a goddamn medal for plotting the deaths of thousands of people just to suit his own agenda.

they'll have parades, wear ribbons, plaster that "bless our troops" nastiness all over the place again. they'll sing songs about him and have special school assemblies and "we love bush and support our troops" bake sales.

even though the man is just plain wrong.

I know my anger won't solve anything. I'm counting my blessings that I'm on this side of the world instead of that. I actually have to seek out news if I want it. I remember those damn yellow ribbons.

and can I just say? I DO NOT SUPPORT OUR TROOPS.

yes, what happened to the vietnam war vets when they came home was wrong. BUT.

this is not vietnam. THESE GUYS SIGNED UP FOR THIS. they were not drafted. sure, maybe they just wanted money for college and to learn how to fly a helicopter like it shows on all the groovy commercials, but THEY KNEW THE DEAL.

telling us to "support our troops" even if you're against the war is just so much propaganda to get peacemakers passing out those damn american eagle stickers. it creates the appearance of wholesale support for the war, even among the communities of people who oppose it.

I support the healing of any being that has survived such horrors. that includes american soldiers, but I do not now, nor will I ever "support our troops." go home, kids. get a JOB to pay for college. learn to fly a helicopter on your own time. chase your dreams. tell the madman that this is his war, not yours.

this is not my war, and you will not fight it in my name.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))