sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


trying to make sense of it all ~ September 16, 2004 - 2:18 a.m.

it's hard to say why i can't seem to bring myself to write. not here, not anywhere. I don't really know how to understand where i'm at lately.

it's difficult to feel so utterly ordinary.

i go to my job. i pay my bills. i check out a lot of movies from the library. i flirt with a boy who will never take me up on it. i clean my room. i scrub out the bathtub. i get in my car and drive, and drive.

i know that i am much more than this. and yet i don't know what to do with it, here in this place.

i have more than a moment of wondering what the hell it is i'm doing here.

but then i always remember. i'm spending time with my parents, who i deeply enjoy these days. making sure that i won't feel i missed out on them when i finally do lose them. the way we all do, in the end. i'm being with my nephews as they grow big and strong and smart and wild. i'm being with my sister, in good times and bad. i'm being with karina, in ways i couldn't be when she was caring for her dying lover. i'm living in a beautiful old house i can afford, and knowing that i'm home. home in a way i haven't been in years. i'm learning how to deal with money the way grownups do, without missing payments or overdrawing my account. i'm paying back my mother. i'm getting access to doctors and trying to get myself well again, finally. i'm learning what it means to live in a city that knows me too well. i'm learning to talk to people who don't understand a word i say.

and i'm attempting to learn how to thrive, here in this place which doesn't nourish my spirit.

remembering that it's here, after all, i came from. for better or for worse. what it means to have roots.

all of this i know. and also, that i don't belong here. that i never have. and that bafflement is somewhere at the heart of it, too.

eight years old, in a summertime thunderstorm, running and jumping and laughing ecstatically the way i did, i found myself dropping to my knees in the alley and pleading with spirits of light and life as i called them even then, tears streaming with the rain down my face. take me back, i cried, take me back, i don't belong here.

and yet here i am.

by choice, even.

there is work i have come here to do.

and yet it is all i can do to write. even this, even here.

so much inside of me, and all i can seem to do is be here, in this place. put one foot in front of the other. and try to make sense of it all.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))