sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


2001: all the dates from here on out sound like science fiction... ~ 2001-01-01 - 22:26:04

happy 2001, y'all... I'm always amazed by how fast time passes. there is definitely nothing boring about my life. there's something to be said for that.

my current adventure involves the circle of hell that is milwaukee in january and the fact that my car is stuck/iced into a snowbank, AND it has a flat tire, and the thing is NOT moving. it's been there for two days. I've been doing a lot of walking in the cold, ice and snow. that's a memory trip, to say the least. I spent a lot of time frozen as a child. I must really love my family to have come back here. I'm just praying I get my car unstuck so I can leave before spring.

and then there's the fact that I've got a gig in chicago tomorrow night. I can greyhound it down there if I have to, but I'd rather not unless I have to. AND I'm entirely out of CDs, so if I don't somehow hook up with a CD burner in the next 24 hours, I will have no CDs to sell, which means I could even wind up losing money on the gig. I did send an e-mail shout out to some of my chicago people, to see if anyone could help. we'll see. sigh. and my feet are still thawing out from the walk back from karina's house-- only 8 or 9 blocks, but DAMN it's cold out there. times like these it helps to have a whole lotta faith. that, at least, is something I've got.

I had a low-key new year's, and it was just about perfect. I kept avoiding making plans... for some reason I was just not in the mood for the noise and the chaos this year. so I met up with heather and her mom for dinner, and then went over to karina's house to laze around with music and smoke and conversation for the rest of the night. karina had a bad cold, so she wasn't up to going out.

it's really good to be able to spend some time with karina. she still lives in milwaukee, and it's hard on her that all her close friends have moved away. she feels tied to her late aunt's house-- if she doesn't live there and keep it up, her parents will sell it. she loves the house, and is considering buying it, although it's a responsibility that limits her freedom in a lot of ways.

karina's had a whole hell of a lot to deal with these last few years. just before I moved to california, she told me that her boyfriend, scott, had been diagnosed with leukemia. she spent the next three years taking care of him while he was dying. he died last fall. she's still recovering, although she seems to be doing prettty well at the moment. it's been hard to be so far away while she was going through all this, and I know there have been times when she's felt very alone. I try to be there for her as well as I can be.

we really have a pretty magical circle of friends... most of us have known each other since high school, and we're all creative, intelligent, interesting, loving people. we don't see each other much these days, but we still come together when we can, and we still all like each other. me, karina, heather, andre, mikro, brian, amanda, ginger, gretchen, jenny... some of us have known each other for 14 years or more. I've known mikro since I was 4. we are all following our own paths, and we are spread all over the place, but there's something really special about those connections.

and for me, there's something about people who've known me before, during, and after my drinking days. it took a lot to keep loving me during some of those years, I know, and I wasn't always such a good friend. people who knew me then know me in a way that most people can't. they've seen my dark side.

being back here again in the winter, I'm not at all surprised I became alcoholic. most people here do. the lucky ones escape.

anyway, new millennium time... I'm turning 28 on the 28th of this month. buckle your seatbelts, kids...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))