sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


subways and sunrises ~ 2001-01-04 - 02:52:43

chicago was good, even though I had to take a greyhound bus down there. I found my way to the gig by el and cta bus. I'm pretty proud of my ability to navigate public transpo in cities. my dad was a bit freaked out when I left-- he seemed to think it was impossible to get around chicago without a car. he forgets that I've been traveling alone since I was 18, and I didn't start owning cars until I was 24.

I like it when cities have a subway system, they're easy to figure out if you know how to read a subway map. my favorite subway is the BART in the bay area, although the T in boston is probably a close second, maybe even a tie. my least favorite is the NYC subway. the metro in paris is cool, and some of the stations have wooden(!) escalators and the cool, old school, gothic metropolitain signs. the london underground is kinda rickety, but scores points because there's a station in islington named angel.

the turnout at the gig in chicago wasn't big, but it wasn't bad, and I better than broke even. the best part was crashing at regie gibson's house, and staying up talking, talking, talking about life and love and music and poetry and sex and spirituality. we ate carrots and drank cider and talked until the sunrise surprised us. regie's another one of those folks I've been wishing for a chance to connect with. have I mentioned that genuine connections with my fellow humans is one of my favorite things on earth? it's true. I really don't know what people are talking about when they grumble about how hard it is to meet cool people. I seem to stumble over beauty everywhere I turn. I think it has something to do with moving through the world with open eyes and an open heart.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))