sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


strong enough to ache ~ August 19, 2006 - 11:44 p.m.

I'm in that gland-swollen state of exhaustion that makes me not want to write because I fear writing will be all about my gland-swollen state of exhaustion.

but anyway.

here, and writing.

listening to tom petty's latest. I've never gotten tired of him.

and it's hard to say
who you are these days
but you run on anyway...

I made cookies tonight, and filled the house with smells of butter and cinnamon, which smell like love. watched a couple of episodes of alias and had a couple of good conversations with housemates.

there's so much in my head right now, but all I want to write about is cookies and love.

not true. I don't want to write about cookies and love. I want to wrap myself in them. I want to eat cookies in bed with someone I've just made deep warm delicious love with. I want to fall asleep in someone's arms, drift into dreams so effortlessly that I don't know I've slept until I wake and we're still warm and tangled arms and legs. I want to feel another heartbeat, feel sleeping breath soft on the back of my neck.

I don't know when it started to feel like that was too much to hope for.

when love goes away, you know that it will come again. when love stays away, waiting wears to a thin sadness that washes the color from hope. when love stays away too long, belief begins to tear and gape and let in the cold. it starts to hurt less to believe that love will never come again than to wait every day for the joyful gift which never arrives.

so you stop. you stop waiting, you stop believing. you work hard and you get strong and you take up the armor that all those sweet loves past peeled from around your heart. you harden your eyes and find fierce joy in your own lioness might stalking silent and mysterious down this solitary path.

and truly, I've loved this path. I've reveled in my freedom, embraced my strength, danced my joys and sorrows with my wild and widespread family who loves me deeply and well.

but just lately, my heart's drawn me again and again close to others whose hearts feel like home to me. whose hearts feel like cinnamon and butter and afterlovemaking cookies in bed. I drink them in, and they breathe open my hard and aching chest, they enflame that bright and whispering ember that's lived there in secret all along.

I've lost my will to disbelieve. I've taken up my worn and overtired faith and called it whole. I've opened the door, in spite of myself, and invited love to return.

strong enough now, to be vulnerable, these years and miles down this road. open enough to breathe in the sunlight and dream of possibilities. courageous enough to ache with loneliness and fall to pieces dreaming of bodies and soft breath and cookies in bed.

goddamn, I'm tired of being alone.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))