sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the morning after the dream... (phase two) ~ March 27, 2006 - 10:31 p.m.

so, I'm okay.

and glad I went to the emergency room, even though it's a stupidly expensive way to deal with healthcare, and even though the healthcare system in this country is so messed up that I don't have many other good options.

I'm glad I went, because I'm okay, but I'm not fine. I have pelvic inflammatory disease and ovarian cysts. the first they can treat with whompin' strong antibiotics, the second they say you just need to keep an eye on, nothing much to be done. but it gives me more information, gives a language to the sensations beneath my searching fingertips. gives a name to pain that I'd begun to believe I was manufacturing.

I had to strong-arm them into really looking. to insist upon the ultrasound that found the cysts. the pelvic that diagnosed the PID. they wanted me to go away again and spend months getting an appointment at a sliding scale clinic.

we talked again and again about it, doctors and nurses and interns all shaking their heads, because they knew that as messed up as it is to use the ER for primary care, there aren't many other good options for a grey-area girl.

a temp, who makes good enough money to disqualify for the poverty programs, but still has no insurance.

because in this country, hard work isn't enough to earn the privilege of access to healthcare.

I HAD BETTER HEALTHCARE WHEN I LIVED ON THE STREETS THAN I DO NOW THAT I WORK FULL TIME.

land of opportunity, folks.

welcome to the morning after the dream.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))