sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the mother of all naps ~ May 12, 2003 - 5:29 p.m.

tired. tired tired tired.

I'm so sick of it.

I took the mother of all naps this afternoon.

I frequently take an afternoon nap at work, which is (unofficially) okay. most of the teachers crash out for a bit at some point. siesta time. and I have no classes in the afternoon, so once I'm caught up on my lesson planning, I don't have a whole hell of a lot to do.

and yet the big bosses insist that we stay until four.

so I nap for a bit. and since I've been unwell, my naps have been getting longer. and then today? I crashed out after lunch and slept for four hours. good god.

yes, I feel a bit guilty about this. but at least it's hopefully helping me heal. I just so want my energy back. I am so tired of being tired.

and now, having just recently woken up, I'm a wreck. I just feel like I can't do much of anything. and I was planning on getting my resume together tonight.

well. maybe after the movie.

that's my plan for the night, as it is so many nights. dinner and a movie at saignam. it's good, it's comfy, and it requires no thinking on the part of an exhausted teacher still recovering from that rat disease thang.

yesterday I called my mom. first time I've talked to her since I've been overseas. I called her from the internet cafe, where you can make internet phone calls way cheaper than on a land line. it wasn't a great connection, we kept breaking up and she was hearing an echo of herself, but it was still nice. and 20 cents a minute to the other side of the world isn't bad.

so we had a good chat, and she was happily surprised that I called, and I fessed up about the rat disease--eeeew-- and about buying the motorbike. she's not even that worried about the motorbike, especially since I've told her that they're really more like scooters than like american motorcycles.

nice to talk to her. I felt a little homesick for the first time yesterday, hanging out at that comfy western-style restaurant listening to acoustic guitar and then talking to my mom.

good, though.

I just wish I had some energy today. I'm really wanting to get moving on this finding-a-new-job thing.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))