sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


falling, and flying, both ~ July 8, 2003 - 7:29 p.m.

so, the experiment has come to a close.

sunday night, I broke up with noy again.

it's no big surprise. you don't take back someone who's screwed you over without expecting them to do it again. I'm not even surprised it took such a short time.

i want you to know

this waz an experiment

to see how selfish i cd be

if i wd really carry on to snare a possible lover

if i waz capable of debasin my self for the love of another

if i cd stand not being wanted

when i wanted to be wanted

& i cannot

so

with no further assistance & no guidance from you

i am endin this affair

this note is attached to a plant

i've been waterin since the day i met you

you may water it

yr damn self

~ntozake shange

this poem has been running through my head for at least two weeks now.

I'd have left even if I hadn't caught him in yet another one of his numerous lies. the funny thing, the sad thing, is that he tells so many he can't even keep his stories straight.

but even besides that, he was neglecting me. I felt unloved and unwanted. which is not how you should feel with someone you've only been with for a few weeks.

I remember saying I think he only wants me because he cannot have me, and that really seems to be the case.

after I left him the first time, he was sweet and attentive and revealing pieces of his heart he'd never shown me before.

and then, right after I took him back, he became distant and strange, stopped coming over all the time, acted like he didn't want to be there when he did.

he said he had heavy family stuff going on, but couldn't tell me what. and then there were all these other stories he told me the night we broke up. things like not being able to love me too much, because I said I wouldn't marry him.

as if I'd marry a liar.

he has it kind of backwards, it seems. as if you start being good to someone after they agree to marry you.

*shrug*

he baffles me. that's okay. I think about the tarot reading I threw, which said that I'd never really know if he loves me or not. and it's true, I never will know. I don't think he knows. I think he's one of those sad creatures who never learned what love is, what it feels like.

I did love him, it's true. but I knew better than to give him my heart. and so I walk away, again. intact this time.

freedom feels like this. like falling, and flying, both.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))