sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


arati bells and incense ~ May 25, 2002 - 8:05 p.m.

it's only eight o'clock, and I'm already wiped out. it's been such a good day, though.

they reduce our work schedules to three hours a day during the retreat, so that everyone can participate-- but there's so much happening that I'm just exhausted by the end of the day.

today felt like a breakthrough day, on so many levels. I feel like I'm just letting go of everything. we did a great series of asanas this morning, called "the forgivenness series", where you offer up your negative qualities to the divine. that just nearly floored me, so much was moving through me.

I've been acutely aware of my negative qualities lately. I think that's another one of those things that came out of my last relationship. it's hard when a relationship makes you realize that your not as good of a person as you thought you were.

don't get me wrong-- I do think that I'm a good person. just not nearly so far along as I thought I was. sad to realize that my heart is still capable of becoming hard and narrow when I'm in pain. that I'm still capable of holding on to pain, to anger, to blame.

but I'm moving through it. letting go. forgiving myself for my shortcomings. forgiving others for theirs. we're all in this together.

then this afternoon, manjala asked me if I wanted to participate in the arati ritual.

arati is something we do every morning and evening during the retreat. it's a very beautiful ritual, performed at an altar on the stage of the main room of the community building. candles, incense, flowers, and various other things are offered to the deities, songs are sung in sanskrit, bells are rung. it's really pretty gorgeous.

and during arati this morning, I was thinking about how beautiful it was, and wondering how you got chosen to be one of the people making the offering.

and then this afternoon, someone couldn't make it, and manjala asked if I would make one of the flower offerings.

and it was such a beautiful experience. they dressed me in a white sari. I've always wanted to wear a sari. a gold and purple bindi on my forehead. I was nervous, but it was just so, so lovely.

and before that, there was afternoon asana class, and livio worked us, and it was fantastic. I was doing things I've never been able to do before. my forehead smacked into my knees doing forward bends, and I almost laughed out loud. amazing what a difference letting go can make.

kind of a non-linear narrative of my day... but really, I've just been feeling so good. of course, right now I'm wiped out, and I still need to finish the article on the physiology of nicotine addiction. and my glands are swollen, I've got a bit of a sore throat. I think it's everything I'm releasing right now, moving through me. I'm trying to decide if I can get away with taking a nap before I buckle down and write this web page. 'cause right now I'm just not there. we'll see. sooner or later, somehow it will get done. just got to work it in around all of this growth and change.

so yeah. a good day.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))