sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


she's wearing white ~ May 24, 2002 - 9:19 p.m.

I'm wearing all white today.

yes, this is an unusual thing.

we're having a yoga retreat up here, which means lots of energy and people and ritual and practices and things to do, things to learn.

I decided to wear white for the duration of the retreat, which signifies devotion and purity in the yoga world. I kept going back and forth about it. I went back and forth about ten times this morning when I crawled out of bed at quarter to six.

finally, I just forced a decision due to the immediate need of getting clothing on my body, and I think it was a good choice.

I felt a little self-conscious about it, though-- which is not a feeling I'm used to. I tend not to worry about what people think of how I look. it's just a thing. because I live in a community where everyone sees me every day. and they've never seen me wear all white. which is a choice mainly the hardcore devotees make.

but this weekend, it felt important. this weekend feels important, in general. I've been getting so wrapped up in the mess of my emotional state lately, it's been hard to focus on my spiritual practice.

and it's one of those conundrums-- because focusing on your spiritual practice is what brings you out of your own little world, puts everything into perspective.

so, I'm seeking focus. balance. spiritual practice. I'm letting go of the neurotic state my head's been in lately. breathing. connecting with the divine.

this retreat couldn't have come along at a better time. I think I'm going to stay on the land this weekend, clean out my headspace for a bit, skip the sunday night dinner thang and the emotional unrest that seems to happen when I get into the same room as james.

although I've been managing pretty sane communication with him the last few days, at least via e-mail. I have some hope that I am, at last, getting over it.

but I think this space I'm in is an important part of the process. remembering just how important my spiritual connection is. to everything.

namaste, y'all.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))