sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the sky is yellow and the sun is blue... ~ 2000-11-04 - 21:57:07

I love my friends. really, there are so many people in this world who I just absolutely adore. there's really something to be said for that.

computer access today is courtesy of steven, I'm in the basement of his cafe, the Blue Sun Cafe in boulder creek, cali. yes, that is a plug-- go there for breakfast sometime if you're anywhere near, you won't regret it.

the Blue Sun Cafe used to be True Nature Foods-- a little natural foods store/deli/cafe. The owners, steven and mongo, are old-school deadheads-- steven was fatty french bread pizza steve, and I think Mongo was stir fry. they got together and bought True Nature Foods and when I moved here three years ago, it didn't take long to find out that it was the heart of this town.

my girlfriend and I stopped in to check out the natural foods store in our new town. steven was lounging against the counter in the front of the store, all long curly hair and baseball cap on backwards, looking like anything other than a store owner. I wound up getting hired to clean the store three nights a week. I had recently fled a budding professional career because I started to empathize with the dying spiderplant that hung above my desk, and doing physical labor alone, at night, with my own music playing, appealed to me. it took a while for clare and I to find other work-- the santa cruz area is pretty fierce when it comes to jobs and housing, and that cleaning job kept us fed.

that job also keyed us into a really beautiful community which centered around the store. good, good people up here in our little mountain town. I've never really had a community like this. everywhere I go in town, there are people I know and usually like, and often love.

when A Santa Cruz Based Natural Food Chain moved into boulder creek, true nature was forced to close and reconfigure itself as the Blue Sun Cafe. for a while it wasn't clear if they'd be able to reopen at all, and working there (by this time working behind the deli/coffee counter, over which I met most of the people I know in town) was an intense experience-- watching steven and mongo watch their dream slipping through their fingers. it was my first really personal experience of Corporate Greed vs. Little Independent. shop at independents instead of chains whenever possible, y'all.

by the grace of a lot of people in this community, and even a public-relations pitch-in from the owner of the Natural Foods Chain Store, True nature was able to metamorphose into the Blue Sun Cafe. Fully vegetarian, highly vegan-friendly (steven's been vegan for 9 years), fabulous breakfasts, sandwiches, muffins, pastries, organic coffee. okay, that's the end of my commercial.

I'm telling you all this because this place really does rock my world, and these beautiful people are deserving of your business-- but also because the whole true nature/blue sun extended family is really special to me. one of my favorite tribes, indeed. you'll hear more about them later.

hmmm... I'm beginning to suspect that I tend toward lengthy diary entries... my, but I do have stories to tell.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))