sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


where the road leads... ~ 2000-11-03 - 00:21:26

...so all the cool kids were doing it, so I finally broke down and started one of these online diary thangs... I can be kinda hard to keep track of, and I'm terrible about keeping in touch with all the beautiful people in my life who are spread far and wide... there's all kinds of things that make this seem like a nifty idea. and it's hard to resist having your own corner of the world where you can babble and rant about life and stuff.

speaking of cool kids and beautiful people, check out wammo's (spankerwammo.diaryland.com) and ariana's (joyfulgrl.diaryland.com) diaries. they both rock my world. also check out the website for the incredible band wammo's in, the asylum street spankers. find out when they're gonna be near you, then go see them. they're like nothing you've ever seen before, I promise.

I'm at ariana's place at the moment, relaxing and doing computer stuff, playing with her cd collection. ariana's place is one of my home base kinda places, which are _really_ good to have when you're a traveling poet who lives out of her car. a place where you know you can always show up and find love and food and a hot shower. a soft place to sleep. I've been kind of easing my way back onto the road... it's been over three years since my last major road trip, and over the past three years I've been working really damn hard at making a home for myself in boulder creek, a gorgeous little mountain town just outside of santa cruz, cali. I guess I've been successful, because I'm feeling more heartbreak than I've ever felt leaving a place.

I've been thinking about home a lot lately, about what that means. I'm one of those people who craves road, like a taste I was born with on the back of my tongue. ever since I was a kid, the only "life goal" I've ever been able to commit to is "to see everything before I die". when I graduated high school, I broke from the "family vacations" mode of travel, and spent the next six years or so taking as many trips as I could, living in different corners of the country and the world, getting a creative writing degree from a college that gave me credit for my travels.

there came a point, though, where I felt kinda tired. I started to crave home, stability, roots. it was around that time that I moved to california, and found boulder creek. at the time I was in a long-term relationship with a beautiful woman named clare, and she and I started putting a life together for ourselves there.

clare and I broke up over a year ago, and that was the catalyst for a whole lot of change in my life. the past year has felt like walking over a landslide. I often have to reorient myself-- okay, where am I? who am I? at some point I had a job I absolutely loved for a change, a man I adored, a house, a cat, a town where everyone knew my name.

then, in a six-week or so period, everything changed. one by one, everything I thought I could count on was pulled out from under me. life became a bad country song. now I know that I was just swept up in an irresistable wave of cosmic change, the kind that washes away the old driftwood and rotting seaweed, leaves everything sparkling and new. and that's when the road started to call me back. it's a new time, a new world, and I'm not sure where this road is taking me. I'm just following where it goes.

I'll miss my home, yeah. it's the first one I've ever really loved. but there's a whole lot of everything to see before I die.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))