sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


discipline and the good life ~ April 9, 2002 - 9:21 a.m.

I lost an entry last night, because either diaryland or the local net connection was being squirrely. that's okay, it wasn't all that hot of an entry anyway, just me being tired and adjusting to my new world and stuff.

I've been thinking about discipline lately, discipline being something like my biggest buggaboo this time around. I've been struggling with it in various forms all my life, and I have the feeling that if I could just get this one thing, everything else would fall into place.

of course, I know that kind of thinking is a fallacy. there is no one thing that makes everything fall into place. everything falls apart, all the time. it's the nature of samsara, and really the best thing you can do is learn how to let go.

but. anyway.

discipline. I know it's something I need more of in my life. I know it's something I've been struggling with for a long time.

and I realized, yesterday morning: all discipline is, is a series of choices. you are continually being given the opportunity to choose between what you want and what you know you need.

like yesterday, the teacher didn't show up for my yoga class in the morning. I wanted to go back to bed. instead, I did some pranayam and meditated. the teacher still didn't show, so I made the choice again; I could do some asana, or I could go back to bed.

that time, I chose to go back to bed.

I'm being kind to myself. discipline is something I'm building, I don't expect to be perfect. there's something grim about the expectation of perfection.

today I got up early to meditate before my asana class. then it turned out that class was cancelled. so this time I made the more disciplined choice, I stayed and practiced asana on my own.

and I thought: the heart of discipline is what you do when the teacher's not there.

so anyway. that's what I've been thinking about lately.

we're in the clouds again today. we were yesterday, too. there's a silky, sweet feeling to the air in the middle of a cloud.

we had sunshine a couple of days ago, though. it was gorgeous up here. I stretched out on a lounge chair on the deck outside my room and basked in the sun like a cat. I listened to the bees zzzzzing their little songs, and watched a hummingbird sipping nectar from the flowers.

life continues to be good.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))