sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the eight page resume ~ May 21, 2003 - 8:19 p.m.

I am good and tired of working on my resume.

I've been dragging my way through it for the past week. I was going to finish it over the weekend, but of course I found a thousand other things to do instead.

but it's nearly done. tonight I am tightening, proofing, looking up all the nit-picky details like publication dates and reference phone numbers.

it's weird how little I can seem to remember about things that happened just a couple of years ago.

like, I'm drawing a blank on this anthology I was in. no big deal, it was a chap-booky type thing, a benefit for a domestic abuse shelter. but marge piercy was in it also, so I like to put it in my credits. it looks good. I just can't remember the title. I just now remembered that marge piercy was the famous writer in it.

remember how important it all seemed at the time?

I think about this, a lot. how much larger-than-life everything is in the present moment than it is in hindsight. there's a poem in there somewhere.

so I'm picking over the grammar of this resume thingy. trying to figure out whether I'm a teacher or a Teacher, that sort of thing.

that means it's almost done.

the fun part of it is, over here they thing the more info you include, the better. unlike the no-more-than-two-pages-and-preferably-one limit in america. condensing down all the many experiences in my life has always been the hardest part. figuring out what is the most relevant.

here, I just get to strut my stuff. my resume so far is eight pages long. because yes, experience as a professional clown is relevant to teaching english as a second language.

I know I capitalize English, but do I also do it with Second and Language? these are the questions, right now.

oh, and I'm feeling much better about my misadventure with lao boy. we talked, and I told him I never want to go to a place like that again, but if he wants to come to my house sometime to hang out (or somethin'), he can. because, after all, the whole thing happened because I really like this guy.

so I'm giving it another chance. see if we can make it turn out right this time. we'll see.

he calls every night around the same time to find out if this is the night he can come. no, not yet, I tell him. my body's not ready yet, and my heart's not either.

friday, maybe. when I don't have to be up early, and all this resume silliness is over with.

we'll see.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))