sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


fiesta! ~ 2001-02-17 - 17:37:01

everything about taos is rich and sensory... it's full of colors and textures and smells. even the dirt is this incredible deep red color.

I've been staying with this absolutely cool woman named maria. maria is a glass artist who makes these incredible pieces by layering panes of glass with precious metals and then baking them in a kiln. some of her pieces are more than thirty layers deep. they are truly incredible. she's on a list somewhere of the top one hundred artists in the world right now. she's lived in taos all her life, and she is beautifully, unselfconsciously flaky. she was all about me using her space as a place of refuge, just turning off and unplugging and making myself utterly at home. every time I showed initiative, like sleeping late or digging through the cupboards for a pan to heat tea water in, she praised me. it was really perfect, I needed that space. I slept forever yesterday, caught up on weeks of sleep I missed in milwaukee. then I got up and did yoga, meditated, took a long shower... just really did whatever I needed to do for me, like maria kept telling me to. that's a serious blessing. she tells me I'm more than welcome to stay anytime I'm in taos, for as long as I like. and that is a real gift. I know I'll need to come back to taos... it's been a good place for me to be.

and then there was the show... last night Tha MuseMeant played at el taoseno, and it was exactly what I needed. I danced and danced and danced... I met some new, beautiful people... gus from new york and I have some frightening similarities-- we both chew tea tree toothpicks (if you haven't tried them, you don't know what you're missing), we both know how to make balloon animals and we both carry balloons and a pump in our backpacks, just in case. and we both used to be clowns.

have I mentioned this? it's one of the most bizarre items on my resume, which reads like a salvador dali painting. I fully expect to add a flaming giraffe to it any day now.

so I was a clown for a bit. my clown name was sunflower. I wore my hair in pigtails and used gold and orange and yellow face paint with glitter to do a kind of sunburst thing around my eyes. I was terribly cute. I wasn't THAT kind of clown-- the red-wig-and-honking-nose kind. they always scared the hell out of me. I was a more low key kind of clown. one of the high points of my clown career was the time a little girl said "I don't usually like clowns, but I like you."

I got paid roughly a hundred dollars an hour to be a clown. sometimes more.

I also had to dress up as characters-- and what's really frightening is that I had to be barbie many, many times. I'd be driving to the gig, cranking ani difranco, and then I'd pull over a couple of blocks away and change into the pink dress and high heels, the blond wig, the makeup and glitter, all the little accessories I used to cover up my tattoos.

I was sure I was going to hell for it.

but the best part was that, at some point during every barbie party, some little girl would say "barbie, do you have your tongue pierced??"

but anyway, enough about the clown world, I was talking about the show. which was incredible. people had traveled from all over, and the crowd was making sure the band could feel the love. they played old stuff and new stuff and we all danced and danced and danced, they played and played until the owners of the venue turned on the fluorescent lights, and they kept playing. the club almost had to pull the plug to get them off stage.

I can't believe they're splitting up. I adore them, I really do. their energy, their light, their awesome fucking musical talent. and they know me now, know my name. they're happy to see me, they ask how the road is treating me. I swear that when nathan sang the lines and all the prettiest dancers are all I ever see, can you tell by the way that I smile..." he smiled right at me. and nathan's got one of those smiles that just lights you up. groupie chick, much? I swear, it's a fine line. but nathan's not the one I'm utterly infatuated with, although I think I'm a little in love with all of them. nathan's got the boyish charm thang going on, aimee is blindingly beautiful and a bit mysterious, and dave has these eyes and the quiet air of someone with a lot going on inside. and there's this sweetness to him, a gentleness. he looks very serious when he playes mandolin, but when he smiles, he's got this gap-toothed grin that washes him in this country-boy sweetness.

you have to guess which one I've got the big crush on. the one who gave me a really nice hug last night when the party broke up around four a.m.

wow, this entry didn't start out to be this long... and now the coffeehouse is about to close, so it's about time I got on the road, heading out to albuquerque. later on, my lovelies...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))