sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


generations ~ May 16, 2002 - 11:23 p.m.

I just got a fat new project from the internet startup, which is great because it's money, and I think it'll be fun too-- but I'm falling back into up-too-late mode. still working on that balance thing.

at least now, being up too late means midnight rather than sunrise.

did I tell you that we just got a new group of people here? yep, a new six-week session has started, so there's ten new people experiencing the community for the first time. I'm realizing that that's always going to be happening... every six weeks or so, a new infusion of energy.

v.p. gave us a scare today. v.p. is the sweet little whitehaired lady I make tea with on thursdays. her health has been erratic, and when she didn't show up for tea today, we were all worried. someone went to her house to check on her, and her car was gone, and she didn't answer the phone.

so we got some folks together and started making tea without her, although we were all a bit scattered with worry.

then, about forty minutes in, she showed up. turns out that she was told last night that there would be no tea today, but plans had changed since then.

we had more people than usual helping, so everything came out on time, and tea was lovely as usual. a couple of people brought little kids, and babaji had a good time playing with them. we all had a good time watching babaji with the kids.

I'm on a new work schedule now, but I get to keep my tea shift. I'm so glad. v.p. is such a treasure... we talk about all kinds of things while we make tea. we laugh a lot.

I've been missing the presence of older folks in my life over the past few years. realizing I needed to spend more time with people who have experienced so much of life. I never had much of a connection to my grandparents, so I think I've been missing that most of my life.

there's people of every age range in this community, and no major divisions along age lines. and folks who have grown old while traveling a spiritual path... they can be really special.

like v.p.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))