sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


it's all happening... ~ January 16, 2003 - 11:04 p.m.

I went underground for a while.

that's how it feels, anyway.

my parents were in cuba (they do things like that), and I had the house to myself. I just dropped out of sight, let go, inhabited the dreamworld for a few days.

and then I dragged myself up and out, turned off the tv, and started trying to get my life together.

and there's just too much to write about that.

I spent some time trying to be there for my sister and her kids. my sister, who's been a single mom for ten years, who recently found out that the love of her life was cheating on her for at least a month. her two beautiful kids, who fight so much that it makes both of us ache, remembering our own childhoods.

family. I give what I can, on the rare occasions when I'm in town.

and now that my folks are back from cuba, I'm helping out my mom too, filling in a position at her non-profit for a little while, helping to fill the gap until they can find someone permanent. it works out for me too, because I do need the cash, and it's not a bad job at all.

I started today. my job is to meet up with a group of folks at the day reporting center and take them around town to sites where they perform community service.

the day reporting center is a very cool thing, and my mother is largely responsible for making it happen. it creates an alternative to jail when judges in milwaukee are handing down sentences. someone who commits a crime-- especially the stupid, non-violent stuff-- can be sentenced instead to the day reporting center, where they can get job skills training, a GED, anger management, substance abuse counseling-- all kinds of things to help them out of the place they're in. most crimes are rooted in poverty and desperation, and the addictions that those conditions breed. the day reporting center attempts to address that.

the community service component that I'm working with helps to reconnect our clients with the community in a positive way, while building self-esteem and job skills. that's the ideal, anyway.

I had fun with the group I went out with today. we went down to the food pantry and helped them with cleaning and sorting. it's not a bad job at all, and I'd probably be willing to do it for longer if I wasn't leaving the country.

but I am, in something like two weeks.

and in the meantime, besides my gig at the day reporting center, I'm doing some contract work for TravelingEd, writing grants. I'm pretty psyched about that, although I'm getting the sense that doing both jobs at the same time is going to be more challenging than I'd imagined. I forget sometimes, how going to a job every day can exhaust you.

it's not for long though. on the 24th, I'm taking the train out to seattle to visit with clare and the baby for a couple of days.

and on my 30th birthday, I'm flying to bangkok, and then on to laos.

I'm tired, I am. but life just keeps on happening...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))