sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


munching cookies and brewing revolution ~ February 2, 2002 - 1:59 a.m.

a hopeful kind of day.

we should be able to move into the new house by the end of next week. I can't wait to get my hands into the dirt of that 5,000 feet of garden. I'm gonna grow all kinds of stuff, just you see.

and ozone's actually, finally, working again-- a contract job, but it could become permanent. and that's making him feel better, which makes me feel better by extension.

and plus, we finally get to get the hell out of san jo.

today I'm full of daydreams about gardening and canning and learning to roll vegetarian sushi and sprouting and having houseplants again. vegetable dreams.

and today I caught the last half of my favorite radio show, this american life, while I was in the shower. and david sedaris did a bit that had me laughing out loud.

and today I made vegan chocolate chip cookies and listened to the news on "all things considered" and mulled over the state of this country of ours while I ate gooey cookies fresh from the oven.

the unemployment rate has gone down, but they're saying it's only because about a million people have given up on looking for jobs.

I can relate. I got tired of having jobs over a year and a half ago. I've been living on love, poetry, and odd jobs ever since.

jobs are highly overrated.

I remember what a revelation it was to realize that I could never have another job in my life, and it would have no effect at all on my worth as a human being.

of course, my mom doesn't see it that way. she'd still like to know what it is I think I'm doing with my life.

how do you pay bills, people ask me. well, for starters, I try to have as little in the way of bills as possible. when you live out of your car, you stop having utility bills, garbage and water, phone bills. no credit card = no credit card debt. if you feel like being a responsible citizen, you get car insurance. then there's gas and food.

if you cook your own meals over a camp stove, you can eat really cheaply. find a natural foods store that has deals on vegetables that aren't quite funky. a bakery that sells day old bread.

then you find things that you can do for money in concentrated amounts of time. we all know I was posing for smut pictures for a short time. it was fine for groceries and car repairs at the time, but I decided it wasn't really a career I was interested in pursuing.

I like to work at music festivals. I go out with a crew from the blue sun cafe and bust my ass for a few days kicking out vegetarian food for the masses. crazy, fifteen hour days, but wild fun and I take a few hundred home with me. I can live on that for months.

I also like to do market research focus groups. companies will actually pay you up to $150 just for sitting and giving your opinion for an hour or two.

of course, most of lately I've been a more or less kept woman. I still make my own money from time to time, but most often he keeps me fed and watered and sheltered. I would feel bad about this if it didn't seem to be fulfilling for him in some way. it's part of the way he expresses his love.

and it gives me the chance to write.

which I have been, oh yes, praise be. it feels so good to be writing again.

unbelievably good.

hopeful.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))