sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the red avocado rocks my world ~ September 27, 2001 - 1:24 a.m.

iowa city's more fun than it sounds like. well, it's home to the big-ass-deal iowa writer's workshop, so there's bound to be some culture. granted, a lot of it's greek. fraternities and sororities freak me out-- we didn't have that kind of thing at antioch. sports teams neither. it was a good place to be a freak amongst freaks.

and believe it or not, my new favorite restaurant's in iowa city. the red avocado-- all organic, all vegetarian-- and they get a lot of their produce from their three working gardens and an orchard! hell fuckin' yeah. the food's fantastic, delicious, and so packed with nutrients it gives you a full-body buzz. we ate there for lunch and dinner today.

at dinner, ozone's brother successfully got a date with the waitress. I was amazed and impressed. I mean, how often do you get to witness a successful pickup? and she's really cute, too. I'm psyched for both of them: for patrick, because he hasn't had a date since april, and for her because patrick's not psycho.

after dinner we went to see medeski martin and wood. damn! how is it I've never heard them before? it's jazz, but so much more. they each seemed to have about a dozen instruments at their disposal, and they teased the wildest sounds out of every one. how the hell do you make a stand-up bass sing like a woman? the concert was one long jam. hell yeah.

now I'm tired and I badly need to meditate before I pass out. ozone's dragging me out of bed early tomorrow (he says) so we can head out for colorado.

halfway home.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))