sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


home again, and road rewound ~ October 01, 2001 - 2:06 p.m.

home again, home again....

it's good to be back. I had breakfast at the blue sun this morning. I'm staying at ozone's place in san jose at the moment, but we've both agreed that I can't stay any longer than is healthy for my soul. last time we were here I stayed in san jose for too damn long.

I'm feeling really good lately, life is good.

ozone's got an interview this afternoon for his dream job. things between us are easier and better than they've been since the beginning. we're both clean, I think that helps. pot seems like such a benign and happy thing, but too much of it can drag you down, hold you back. it's feeling good to be clean. I'm healthy and my head is clear.

and I'm home.

so much I haven't told you about our journey... like sandra, the friendly mountie who we joked and chatted with for over an hour while canadian customs searched every nook and cranny of the truck. the way we were practically waved through the border on our way back into the states-- a cursory search of the cab, a glance at our IDs, and a "thank you, folks".

fern's wedding, a gorgeous, pagan affair held at a nature preserve. I wore my green velvet dress and anointed each member of the wedding party with rose water before they stepped into the circle. we honored the four directions, and fern and her partner, mike, fed each other hunks of bread and sips of wine:

may you never be hungry

may you never be thirsty

and made sweet vows of love which had nothing to do with obedience or domination. fern wore a faerie dress of soft cloth leaves, translucent faerie wings and a crown of roses, mike wore brown overalls with leaves sewn here and there, his hair in a ponytail down his back.

at the end of the ceremony, they held hands with oceana, their three year old, between them, and all three jumped the broomstick together, entering into their new life of promised love.

I still have a hard time seeing myself ever getting married, ever feeling I could make those kinds of lifelong promises to another person. I suppose if the time and the partner ever arrived, I'd know it with all of my being. until then, I love those I'm with in each and every moment, without claiming to know what might happen in the next.

if I did ever decide to take that leap, the ceremony might look something like theirs. vegan and veggie food at the reception, bluegrass musicians playing while we enjoyed a perfect, sunny afternoon, a vegan and wheat-free layer of wedding cake. a band playing grateful dead covers as the afternoon shadows slid towards evening.

really, it was beautiful.

and we almost didn't make it. our departure kept getting delayed and delayed, ozone was waiting on a check which was hung up by various forms of incompetence-- we finally managed to leave on thursday night. the wedding was sunday.

really, that kind of thing is how you find out that it's possible to drive from san jose, california, to gettysburg, pennsylvania, in just under two and a half days. we did the crazy adrenaline-and-junk-food-fueled shift driving thang, and rolled into fern's driveway at 6am sunday morning, caught a few hours sleep before the wedding began.

I'm so glad we did it. fern was one of my best friends in college, and we walked through all kinds of hell and high water together. she's always been there for me, and I was more than willing to wack out on road delirium for a few thousand miles to be there for her.

I do know and love quite a few beautiful boys, but I don't know what I'd do without my girlfriends.

you know?

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))