sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


at the age of 37, she realized she'd never ride through paris in a sportscar with the warm wind in her hair... ~ 2001-01-21 - 00:32:46

just got back from the movies... my folks go to see a lot of movies, that's their main source of weekend entertainment since they quit drinking when I was 15. so when I'm here, I go to the movies with them. tonight we saw "brother, where art thou?" GREAT fun, really entertaining, fantastic soundtrack. we've actually been listening to the soundtrack for the last few weeks-- it's part of the weekend morning music lineup. weekend mornings we sit around and drink coffee and read the paper and listen to music. My folks have fantastic taste in music... lotsa old-timey bluegrass and country and mountain music, among other things. I had to grow up before I could really appreciate my parents' taste in music. the walls of the den I'm sitting in now are lined with LPs. thousands of them.

I just surprised my mom... we were talking about napster over dinner, which neither of them have any experience with, and mom wistfully said she bet I couldn't find dr. hook's version of "the ballad of lucy jordan". within 15 minutes of getting back here, I'd found it and downloaded it. when I played it for her, she just lit up. my folks may not have been everything I wanted them to be when I was growing up, but in a lot of ways, they're pretty damn cool.

an interesting side note: my mother's favorite movie is "montenegro"-- a cult classic you should see if you haven't. her favorite song is "the ballad of lucy jordan", by marianne faithfull. you'd have to know both the movie and the song to find it as wild as I do. montenegro is about a bored housewife who winds up having strange adventures and wild sex in montenegro, and goes home and poisons her family. the ballad of lucy jordan is about a bored housewife who loses her mind and runs naked through the shady streets, screaming all the way.

my mother is not a bored housewife. she's the executive director of a non-profit that develops alternatives to incarceration and works to fight the institutional racism of the criminal justice system. When I was little, though, she stayed home for a while, and you could tell she was climbing the walls. she clearly felt overwhelmed as a mother. she had three kids she didn't know how to deal with. when I was 5 or so, she went back to work part time, working for a consumer advocacy group, and went to full-time not long after that. looking back on it I realize how badly she needed that. I'm the kind of person who could be happy staying at home with the kids, working on my writing. I need space in my life to breath and dance and love and enjoy life. mom's the kind of person who needs a career. I do have to wonder what kinds of escape fantasies she nurtured when we were kids. my sister still blames her for her failures as a mother, but I just can't see the point of holding grudges anymore. mothers and daughters. it's kind of the eternal struggle for all of us, isn't it?

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))