sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


luna thailand ~ October 22, 2002 - 6:17 p.m.

that cold that's been coming on finally caught up to me...

that's okay, though, life is beautiful.

I wrote a great entry about the moon and old memories when I was in surat thani, and then lost the whole thing to a faulty connection. I should know better. one of these days I'll learn to copy it before I hit the send button.

surat thani was kind of weird... my room, a characterless box of a place, was infested with ants, crawling all over my bed, and when I asked the girl at the desk for another room, she more or less accused me of bringing them in with me.

I also had a weird run in with a couple of boys on a scooter... probably harmless enough, but they started following me, and it creeped me out. finally, I told one of them off... he didn't understand english, but I think I made myself pretty clear. after that, they thought it was funny because I was mad. the last time they cruised by me, I yelled "go!", making all the market ladies with their piles of chilis and vegetables look up from their blankets, and one nearby me started to chuckle.

I'm on ko pha gnan now, having come out for the full moon party which is legendary among backpackers. unfortunately, there was a lot of confusion as to the date... it was scheduled for the 21st, but all the tour operators were telling people that it wasn't going to be until the 22nd, because the 21st is a buddhist holiday here... by the time I found out if was really monday, and got an e-mail from my boss saying that I should go ahead and go if I wanted, the only boat I could catch was the night ferry, which didn't get me in until almost six in the morning.

the ferry was really comfy, though, with beds and everything, and I made it to the party for sunrise, anyway.

it was a bit like a big, commercialized moontribe party, with the addition of bars up and down the beach. I'm glad I got to see it, anyway, all those kids from all over the world getting their groove on on a thailand beach.

I danced for a couple of hours, and then caught a longboat up to thong nai paan, the beach where my irish friend brendan is staying. I got a bungalow, took a shower and passed out, after leaving a note on brendan's doorstep.

he woke me up sometime in the afternoon... so much fun, this is the third country I've managed to connect with brendan in. he's a good irish kid, and we always have fun running around. I'm with him and two friends now, down in dong ha town on the island. I'm uploading photos while they go for a drink... that's a hint, by the way-- more photos at webshots, under "travelingkelly".

I'm not sure if I'm taking off from the island tomorrow or the next day, but soon... I have to do something silly, I need to go back to rai lay, because I left the broken camera in my bungalow there. I called thong, and he ran up there and confirmed that they do have it. he's glad I have to come back, and it'll be fun to swing back there, but it's ridiculous that I have to go backwards when I want to be going forwards. shouldn't take too long, though, maybe just a day or so out of my way, if I time it right.

I spent a blissful day climbing at rai lay-- did I tell you? thong (pronounced like the kitchen utensil), my guide, was great, and I finally learned how to lead climb! I did all kinds of things I've never done before, climbed higher than I ever have... just glorious.

I love my job, yes I do.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))