sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


we can save the world all night long... ~ 2001-02-25 - 05:19:08

stories to tell.

stories.

Tha MuseMeant. when you last heard from me at the shows, I was headed to albuquerque. abq was beautiful, in spite of itself. I swear that town is poisonous, I feel radioactive when I leave there. but at the show that night it felt like we were healing the earth with our dancing, with our joy, and looking around me I knew that this is something we need to hold on to if we're going to heal the wounds of this earth and care for each other when the walls come crashing down.

there's times in the dance when your feet leave the ground and there is nothing but the energy moving through and connecting you to everyone else there, and to the earth and the tides and the stars and the sun and the moon... times in the dance when you know that you are part of everything and everyone, that the universe has you in its arms and that it loves you... all the hurts and tensions in the world shaking loose and leaving just light and love and music.

there was a woman in the crowd at the sunshine theatre in albuquerque who had clearly never seen anything like it. she was middle aged and heavily made up, running through the crowd drunk and barefoot, laughing and whooping and dancing like she'd never danced before.

there were times in albuquerque where the whole room got quiet. aimee looked like she was on the verge of tears, and then so did nathan, and then when they were singing nothing's gonna change my world... nothing's gonna change my world... everyone was crying. all of us were feeling it. then the band brought it back up... I think they did "movin' by lovin'", and everyone just let go and DANCED.

after the show, there was a party at the house of the good folks from yerba mate revolution, and it was the best kind of party, good people lounging around on pillows on the living room floor, easy talk and laughter and music... one of the yerba mate folks, a sweet guy named colin, walked through, filling people up with mate. at 5 a.m., dave said "hey, it's 5 a.m., anybody wanna pick?" so he and the guys from the opening band (forgot the name, sorry guys, I'll see if I can find it somewhere) got set up in the kitchen and jammed on mandolins and guitars, and then some drummers joined in, and then some folks started playing chopsticks against the counters and bottles, and by 6 a.m. I was sitting on the kitchen floor and trying not to fall asleep, because the music was so sweet that I didn't want to go to bed from it.

finally the musicians broke up around dawn, and one of the yerba mate folks said I was welcome to crash... I had a couch waiting for me across town, but I doubted I'd make it any further than my car, so I got my sleeping bag and curled up in a corner, and I slept like the dead.

I woke up five hours later and had one of those moments where in the moment before I opened my eyes, I couldn't remember where I'd gone to sleep. I was rested and relaxed and happy, and I shared a guampa of yerba mate with a woman named kathryn (I think... I'm bad with names...) who was about to take off for utah for a job where she'd take teenagers backpacking in the backcountry. I am all about yerba mate. it clears the fuzz out of your head and wakes you up, but it doesn't get you tense and wired like coffee, and it's good for you, too. good stuff. read more about it at yerba mate revolution.

it was sunny and gorgeous in albuquerque that morning, and I felt awake and alive. one of those times when life is just GOOD.

...and that seems like the right place to leave the story for now...

it's GOOD to be a hippie chick... oh, yes...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))