sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the music I hear in my dreams... ~ 2001-02-26 - 03:03:20

all of my memories from santa fe are soft...

I drove out of albuquerque in the sunshine, with the sunroof open and the window down...

I met up with my friend gus at cafe oasis, which is a great, funky little cafe with all kinds of different rooms you can sit in and lots to look at on the walls. I landed there once with clare, a couple of years ago, on our way home from a colorado roadtrip. we were starting to get a little tense, snapping at each other, and cafe oasis wound up being the perfect thing. what's funny is that gus and I wound up sitting in the exact place where clare and I had sat a couple of years before. that was kinda wild. I still seem to bump into ghosts of me-and-clare everywhere I go.

but cafe oasis was relaxing and lovely and gus liked it as much as I do...

we headed out to the venue from there, el farol, where Tha MuseMeant got their start in santa fe... they played the show as the original trio: dave, nathan, and aimee. when we got there, they were doing sound check, and gus took off to pick up a friend called dogman.

the band finished sound check and headed out for dinner at their friend jamie's house... I wound up getting invited to tag along, an invitation I couldn't turn down, although I wanted to make sure I wasn't crowding the band. it means a lot to me that I got to spend some time with them, brief and hectic as it was. that I got to get a sense of them as people... I would feel deeply blessed if our paths cross again, but I also know the way that beautiful people tend to come in and out of my life... after a point you just let go and trust in the universe and its ways.

dinner was relaxed and easy, good food and music and people... I was feeling shy, but happy, open, and filled with light.

we headed back to the venue, a small place entirely filled with people. the show was dreamy... they did a lot of softer, slower numbers, which nathan says they've always loved to play, and which you get starved for on the road. I met a lot of people that night, but the names and faces are like something out of a dream and I can't seem to get a hold on them. it's the presences and spirits of the people around me I remember the most. the love and the softness and the way the music reached out and held us all as if we could curl up inside it and dream a better world.

at midnight, which is sunday bartime in santa fe, the show was shut down, but no one was ready for it to end. nathan asked for a cordless phone, which he got, and he called up his friend jack:

"hey, jack-- we're getting shut down over here, and a lot of us are feeling like we've really just begun... could we come over and bring about, um, 200 people?"

looking at us: "do you all promise to be cool?"

us: "YES!"

so that became the new plan, and there was some general chaos about who was going where, when and how... and nathan suddenly seemed to realized what a huge thing he'd just done and how much potential there was for things to go terribly wrong, but the momentum was rolling by then, and all he could say was "y'all, please don't disappoint us..."

we formed a caravan out to jack's place, which was a good twenty minutes away... I was already so tired I could barely keep my eyes open, but I knew I'd regret it forever if I didn't go.

everyone piled into jack's living room, the original two hundred distilled down to about fifty, and we sprawled on couches and curled in corners and stepped over legs and dave and nathan and aimee played and played and played. I kept falling asleep and waking up, drifting in and out of dreams on a soft wave of sweet music. they played and told stories and nathan got himself laughing so hard it hurt, curling up behind his guitar and holding on for dear life. such sweetness. such incredible sweetness.

there's more, oh, yes, but I'll leave it there for now...

sweet dreams, my lovelies...

sleep with angels....

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))