sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


missing it all, late at night ~ March 1, 2005 - 2:31 a.m.

it's being a difficult kind of a night.
this is the thing, about living in milwaukee: i get numb. like i will never feel anything deeply again. it always goes away, in the end. usually when i leave. but in the midst of it, it's terrifying. it feels like parts of me are dying.
i did yoga today, though, which felt tremendously good and important. it's been way too long. and partly i wonder if that's why i'm so down right now. if maybe i haven't unlocked a lot of stuff that my body's been holding onto, toxins both physical and emotional.
i know that this won't last forever, but there's always a low-level current of panic that maybe, after all, it will. and i remember how much i loved my life in california and wonder again just what the hell it is i'm doing here. and lately all my dreams are in lao. i walk the streets of vientiane and bangkok in my sleep, i haggle with street vendors in syllables only half-remembered in my waking hours.
strength and health, things i need before i can step back out on to that path. yoga, a move in that direction. if only i can keep working, keep training, building the tools i need to break free. i am tired of this place, tired of this fear of losing myself to numbness, to an emptiness of heart which leaves me cold and alone in this wasteland. tired of my own ill health.
tired of how much energy it takes just to believe.
my life used to be filled with magic.
where did it go?

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))