sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


making a day of it ~ January 29, 2002 - 10:34 p.m.

my birthday was good. somehow, I never have a lousy birthday. I wonder how much of that is because I am just so determined to enjoy myself on that one day a year.

we went to see the inside of the house we drove by the night before, and we both dug it. it's small, but there's a big workshop/garage underneath and 5000 feet of garden out front. and it's close to everything. and the inside's just been redone, so it doesn't have that dinge factor that plagues so many rentals.

so we put in a rental application, but today we decided to go see the other place we made an appointment at. which was a cottage out in the hills. and it was beautiful and funky and out in the country, with huge windows. and we were talking to the landlord about the place the rental company showed us, and that we liked-- and it turns out that he owns that one too. a funny bit of synchronicity. the only two places we go look at are owned by the same guy. he just bought the one downtown.

which is the one we ultimately decided we liked better. they were both very cool for different reasons, but the garden and the workshop and the being close to everything ultimately decided us on the downtown house. and now we've met the landlord, and got a good vibe.

and ozone goes to sign papers for his new contract job tomorrow. he's asleep, half sitting up in bed right now, with an open manual on his lap for one of the programming languages that he needs to learn. he's not snoring. I always have to check if he's breathing when he sleeps without snoring.

but yeah, my birthday... we went to the amazing hot tub place, where I actually wound up applying for a job. I would actually be willing to drive over the hill and make shitty wages if it meant I got access to those tubs on a regular basis. I mean, santa cruz is full of hot tub places, but nothing like this one. it's gorgeous. sumptuous. I dig it.

and then I auditioned for "hair".

it did not go well.

but I suppose it went about as well as could be expected. singing auditions never work well for me. I started out in the wrong key, and rather than stopping it and starting over like I should have, I just blundered through it in a key a little too high for me. and the accompaniist was off-tempo.

so basically, it sucked.

and he had me read a piece for the role of jeannie, and I read well, but the piece was short, and he didn't let me read the longer, funkier piece that he let everyone else who wanted jeannie read.

but hell, that's how auditions go. you get that one shot, and either it goes well or it doesn't. I'll probably still get cast as a "member of the tribe", and that'll be plenty of fun. the characters aren't such a big deal in that show, anyway.

although I'm not sure if I'm willing to do the show if they're having rehearsals in the same place-- the rio theatre, a giant movie house which was utterly unheated. we were all shivering, literally. if they rehearse there, everyone's going to be getting sick and pulling muscles. we'll see.

then dinner at libelula (I finally know how to spell it), my favorite vegetarian place in santa cruz. pete, the owner, made a fuss and brought me a slice of vegan chocolate cake with a candle, and everyone sang the most raggedy-ass version of happy birthday ever.

it was a good day.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))