sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


not talking about it ~ February 21, 2002 - 12:52 a.m.

hard not to feel better on a day as beautiful as today was. highs in the 70's. god, I love california winters. it's already spring, in february. flowers starting to be everywhere.

I also finished this thing, today, that's been hanging over me for a few days.

a thing I don't want to talk about too much, because it's an application for something I want so badly I can taste it. the kind of thing where you're afraid that if you talk about it, you'll jinx it.

a way to make a living doing something I care about, making a difference in my community, and writing. exactly the kind of opportunity I've been keeping my eye open for.

so, y'know, I'm not really talking about it. I'll let you know if anything happens. I want it so badly that I've convinced myself that there's no way. of course, I fantasize about it constantly too. and also remind myself that things happen the way they're supposed to, and that if it doesn't happen, it's for a good reason.

but, y'know, I'm not really talking about it.

I have discovered, in this process of trying-to-get-things-done, that there aren't that many good options for places to work on your laptop and drink coffee in this town.

I used to go to the javah house, which is one of my favorite coffee houses, but for some lame reason they've decided to start closing at 5:30. the saturn cafe doesn't have power outlets, nor does the laundromat-espresso-bar place by my house. I went to some damn yuppie cafe yesterday, but they have this policy about "no studying after 6 p.m.", and they've just got a bad attitude.

so I wound up at caffe pergolesi today, which is where all the young hipsters hang out.

it's really not one of my favorite places, because it feels like everyone checks you out when you walk in the door to see if you're cool enough to be there. they sell beer along with coffee and snacks, and they blare various flavors of alternative music, some of which is good and some of which sucks.

they do have power outlets, though, and couches with coffee tables, and regular tables and chairs, and church-pew type things, and they don't mind if you sit there forever.

and it's a good place to people watch. today I shared my couch, at different times, with a transgendered person wearing red tights under black fishnets under translucent pantaloons, and an old-fashioned goth boy in clunky leather-and-metal boots, a leather trenchcoat, and flock-of-seagulls hairdo.

so I've got a place to hang and work on the thing. that I'm, y'know, not talking about.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))