sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


one thing, deeply ~ March 29, 2003 - 6:27 p.m.

I've been crazy busy the last few days... we give big bi-monthly exams at school, and this was my first exam week. for me it was plagued by all kinds of computer problems and last-minute crises, but it all worked out. the next one will be easier, I think.

amazing how much better my organizational skills are getting, just because they have to. it feels like I'm growing up here, somehow. you really have to be the grownup when 15 kids are depending on you for their education.

so I've made my big decision, and told all the people who need to know, so now I can finally tell you: I've decided to stay in lao for another year.

it's big, it's huge, but it's just the right thing for me at this point. I've been traveling for something like years now, and it's been amazing. but I'm in a place now where I'm really craving the ability to do one thing, deeply. and this thing that I'm doing, I love. absolutely.

it means I get to have a home, a real home, for a good long stretch of time. in a place that feels good to me. in a job that I love, in which I am growing and learning tremendously. it means I get to grow in all the ways that stability inspires. maybe I'll finally finish the book I started writing last year. learn to play guitar. learn a martial art.

not only that, I'm feeling pretty certain that at the rate I'm learning, I'll be fluent in lao by the time I leave. fluent. in another language. what a gift.

I'll be able to save money, so I won't go home dirt broke for a change. I'll still be able to travel during school holidays, and I'm surrounded by fascinating countries.

it just feels like the right thing. as soon as the decision was made, my heart just filled with light. one thing, deeply. oh yes, life is beautiful.

I'm moving into the house on the mekong on monday. I really can't wait to settle in and build myself a nest. a warm center from which to move.

that's what lao is for me right now. a warm center. the heart of my life. I am learning so much.

one thing, deeply.

yes.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))