sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


phoenix rising ~ August 15, 2006 - 11:36 p.m.

I just came home from Phoenix Fire, and it feels like the whole world has begun again. I don't know how to write about any of it, about the last week I spent up on the mountain with my tribe or the months before that where I was swimming in and out of health crises and emotional shutdown.

but here I am, down off the mountain and feeling again like all things are possible. i spent the day grounding, cleaning my room and doing laundry. things that felt so difficult not so long ago. now my space is clean and clear and smelling like white sage and incense. my desk is clean and organized for the first time in months.

and here I am, sitting at my desk and using my computer to write with, instead of watching DVDs.

(I blame my stretch of lassitude on jennifer garner. I got completely sucked into alias. also, I blame westside video for their "5 for 5" deal.)

phoenix fire was deep work and sweet play, and learnings ranging in nature from gentle to devastating. saturday night I was stripped to my bones and torn to pieces, all the while held in the arms of my family. I danced and sang and wept and screamed, and learned more than I know how to give to words.

and here I am, writing. at my desk, which I cleaned. there's no way to tell you what small miracles these feel like.

but this I know: I need to write, and keep on writing. I need to keep sending my writing out into the world. this is one of the messages which kept coming to me, again and again.

and so here I am, writing. at my desk. I added a sentence to my novel today. I started a new poem. miracles, all.

and more in the growing.

what gifts are held in open hands?

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))