sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


poison ~ june 13, 2001 - 4:18 p.m.

last night I went to santa cruz, and I ran into a couple of sweet brothers I know from moontribe... we talked for a bit about life and internal struggles and the nature of the universe, and then one of them said hey, do you slam dope? wanna come with us?

no, huh-uh.

and I realized-- is it possible-- that it was the first time in my life someone had invited me to shoot up. when I was a crazy little punk girl, back in milwaukee about a decade ago, heroin was around, but there weren't that many people on the scene who used it, and those that did kept it pretty private. most people knew to stay the fuck away from it.

sometime between then and now, it got a whole hell of a lot more accessible and socially acceptable. kids who aren't enjoying life anyway see no good reason not to throw their lives away on that damn drug, to trade their freedom for needle slavery. a LOT of the kids downtown do heroin.

it breaks my heart, over and over again.

pat is really interested in the chemistry of drugs. he tells me that heroin actually warps your pleasure centers so that nothing but heroin ever quite fits. that's why nothing ever feels as good again once you're hooked on heroin.

it's killing the children, poisoning their spirits, making them slaves. it is in the interests of the machine to keep the most beautiful and powerful beings in our society dependent on an evil that kills them from the inside out.

I set the two boys on the street up with day old muffins and we talked about addiction, about struggle. one of them looked me in the eye and said yeah, we're both kind of deep in this drug thing-- I don't really know what to do.

if only I knew.

if only I knew what to do.

I sent them on their way with love and blessings, and wandered through borders books, biting back the urge to kick over bookshelves and scream.

the children are dying.

and I don't know what to do.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))