sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


reality sculpting ~ 2000-11-19 - 19:10:38

it looks like the problems I was having with diaryland were specific to the computer I was on... I'm logged in on pat's machine now and it seems to be working fine.

pat's machine is named bootstrap, and it runs LINUX with Xwindows-- a windows simulator for LINUX. it's pretty nifty. pat and stacey are computer geek friends of mine, and absolutely beautiful people. when clare and I moved to california, they were our first friends here, and they were really giving right from the start.

clare and I had rented a studio off the back of a house in the woods. it was a beautiful piece of land, 8 acres with a stream running through it, woods to explore. unfortunately, the landlord was a little psychotic. we gave him a thousand dollars up front, and he promised all kinds of renovations before we moved in. none of them got done. when we arrived from wisconsin, we had no kitchen, no bathroom, no running water, and our studio was basically a construction site.

our studio was connected to the main house by a flight of stairs and a door. the landlord told us we could use his kitchen and bathroom until the renovations got done. the problem was that he wasn't sure how much jail time he was going to have to do for beating his ex-wife's lover almost to death, so he rented the main house to pat and stacey to make sure the mortgage would get paid while he was behind bars. charming man.

he also neglected to tell pat and stacey that they'd be sharing their new home with us. luckily, we all made friends immediately. before they'd even unpacked their boxes, they were stringing cables down the stairs to set up an internet terminal for us in our apartment. they really are wonderful people-- incredibly intelligent, anarchist, environmentalist computer geeks with big hearts. they're very good friends to have.

clare and I ditched out of the hell house after six weeks, by which time the psycho landlord was calling us names and hanging up on us when we'd try to call. pat and stacey left about a month later. we all lost money to that guy.

pat and stacey now live in a gorgeous geodesic dome house in the los gatos hills. that's where I'm staying at the moment. it's been a wonderful place to rest. pat and stacey are a houseguest's dream. they went up to san francisco last night, and before they left, they walked me through the remote controls for every light in the house-- including the lava lamps and the disco ball-- told me where the dry firewood was, set me up with a big, fluffy towel, invited me to do laundry and help myself to anything in the kitchen. and of course, they set me up with computer access. they consider it a basic neccessity of life.

pat and stacey believe that technology is a tool which can be used as a force for positive change. check out pat's baby, the reality sculptors project. it's neato. it's all about people creating their own realities, living the lives they dream. that's where my new website's gonna live, at http://reality.sculptors.com/~kel. maybe I'll get it roughed out over the next couple of days while I'm here.

I'm afraid any descriptions of pat and stacey's gorgeous dome home would be inadequate, but I'll try to give you a feel for it: they are all about comfort. all kindsa mood lighting, eclectic and beautiful art. there's generally various geometrically designed models lying around, things they're playing with. pat's big into geometry and physics. aquarium bubbling away in the corner, generally some kind of electronica on the stereo. they're big into various kinds of techno, especially trance and jungle, spacey stuff. their music collection is very eclectic, though. last night I was coming down with a cold and needed something familiar and comforting, so I worked my way through their grateful dead collection. in the daytime, a crystal mobile in the window shoots rainbows all over the dome. at night, with a fire in the woodstove, it's incredibly cozy. it's the kind of house that makes you want to lounge like a cat. and there's cats to lounge with too.

it's hard to believe I'm almost out of here. next week this time I'll be in LA. goddess willing and I sell my scirocco. anybody want to buy a car?

I'm writing this in a wing off the main dome. it gets pretty chilly in here, and pat just came in and draped a blanket over my shoulders. yeah, it's a good place to be.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))