sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


points of light ~ 2000-11-20 - 08:09:48

This perfection is what came of all the chaos and madness. All the lies you wove around me have boiled down to this one truth.

All the nightmares you fed me have been distilled...

...to this single dream.

--from Miracleman, Book 2: The Red King Syndrome

pat's gotten me hooked on the miracleman books. if you're into graphic novels and comic books, check them out. I've never been that into comics... nothing against them, I've just never had much contact with them, and the few that found their way into my world were often pretty poorly written. I can't stomach bad writing even if it's coupled with lovely artwork.

miracleman is well written and I'm digging on it. the artwork is wildly inconsistent at times-- mike moran looks like an entirely different person from one frame to the next-- but it's still lovely to look at. another one of those "escaped government experiment" plotlines, too. the way it all unfolds as you go along is just gorgeous... vaguely reminiscent of the x-files.

tonight stacey made us a fabulous dinner. we ate and lounged and drifted in and out of conversations, and then we bundled up and went out to the telescope. the rings of saturn-- have you seen them? and the moons of jupiter. the pleaides. the orion nebula. the horsehead nebula. andromeda. with starlit smiles they handed me bits of the cosmos, pressed them into my hands like deliciously shared secrets, the last of the leonid meteors streaking overhead.

with the universe dancing in my eyes, I couldn't think what to wish for.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))