sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


another door ~ October 17, 2005 - 6:38 p.m.

I haven't been writing, because my computer situation is impossible. the internet at the house is wireless, and just thinking about how to get my creaky little linux-runnin' laptop set up for that makes my head hurt. and it costs money i don't really have until i've got steady work.

so i can use the library's internet, for an hour a day, and most of that goes to job-looking pursuits.

but today, i just want to write. nothing eloquent or profound. just.

i'm landing today, after a delicious weekend working at the nor cal rennaissance faire. only my second time at faire, and my first time working it.

oh my, but it was glorious. play of a sort i deeply needed. i was courted by one of the queen's guard, who made me blush and giggle like i'd never had my hand kissed...

and saturday night i just ran wild, swinging through the moonlight in my leather pants, dancing for hours on end at the black and pearl party, giggling through the fool's maze in the dark with a passle of wild girls and landing in the smokey belly of the pirate ship, telling silly jokes before stumbling off to bed.

saturday morning i was new, sunday morning i had family.

new, but not. i've been thinking a lot about all the communities that hold me in their arms. differences, yes, but so much alike, and special to those within for so many of the same ways.

i've known ren faire folks since i was in high school, but never really walked through the door til now. and what i've found is sweet, and playful, and sensual, and full of heart.

and who doesn't like a great big game of make believe?

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))