sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


where i need to be ~ October 26, 2005 - 6:56 p.m.

today was moody and overcast...

and me, too.

BUT, i went to my new job to fill out the paperwork and make it official, so hooray! banquet catering-- good money AND it's walking distance from my house.

money coming in is good. i don't care for the moneystress.

i've been spending a lot of time with my new housemate. let's call her angie. i never used to mess around with aliases, but a couple of times over the years, privacy issues have arisen for some of the folks who make appearances in this haphazard story of my life.

so, angie. about my age, bright and shiny, wildly social-- and all her friends are boys. needs to be the center of attention, but does it so charmingly that no one much minds.

i know you've known a girl like this.

so me and angie have been running around, and it's good fun, but also exhausting and a little disorienting. i'm just not the non-stop party kinda girl.

also, i think angie's made it something of a personal mission to find me a boyfriend. i don't think she *gets* that i'm not really looking. that until something mindblowing knocks me off my tracks, i'm just as happy to stay single and worry about my own self.

really, if i had to guess, i'd say my singleness just makes her profoundly uncomfortable. that she can't quite grok it as a state of being anyone might actually *choose*.

it's good, though, to have her energy around, to have her drag me forcibly from the house and remind me that there's a big bright world out there.

plus she works at a music venue in town, and can get me into shows for free. we went to the devil makes three saturday night, and it was SUCH a badass show. check 'em out if you get the chance. ever since strawberry, they've been my new band.

i love my house. i love santa cruz. i love my people here. there is so much darkness, chaos and change in the world right now, but it feels like i'm exactly where i need to be.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))