sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


late night double feature picture show... ~ March 27, 2002 - 4:56 a.m.

of course I should be in bed by now.

this will all change when I move up to the yoga center on tuesday. I've been indulging myself. kind of a decompression after the relationship journey I've been through the last bunch of months.

I've been working my way through ozone's dvd collection. what's cool about dvds is all the extra stuff, director commentary and like that. you learn a lot about movies that way.

tonight I felt very decadent. I played online scrabble WHILE watching the rocky horror picture show.

trippy to see it again after all these years. I think it's the first time I've seen it since I was sixteen. and the first time I've seen in outside of a theatre.

me and my best friend, heather, used to go to rocky horror just about every saturday night when we were fifteen. it was a place for us to be freaks among the freaks. we came armed with squirtguns, newspaper, rice and toast, we knew what to yell and we -always- got up for the timewarp.

hard to explain what that movie, that cultural experience was for us. people who did it, people who still do it, know. in milwaukee, rocky horror was the saturday midnight movie at the oriental theatre, a fantastic old-school movie theatre with a balcony and sistine chapel ceilings and golden buddhas lined up along the walls. it's still there, although they've carved it up into three pieces now so that they can show more movies at a time. they've kept a lot of the cool stuff in the front part of the theatre, though. I haven't been to a movie at the oriental in many years.

going to rocky horror was so much about the experience, the people, the floorshow, the culture of rocky horror.

so I'm watching it on dvd after all these years, and I was surprised how much I remembered of the audience call-and-response type stuff. castles don't have phones, asshole!

then I watched it again, with a feature that included an actual audience in the soundtrack, and I laughed out loud at all the things I'd forgotten about. it made me wish I could go to a show, see kids jump up on stage to "spin" the screen at the end, and fall on the stage when the professor stops the globe. part of me would love to revisit that experience, but part of me wants to leave it alone, knowing it will never be what it was to me then.

after that, I watched it yet again, with commentary by the actors who played magenta and riff raff. learned all kinds of things. like the reason that dr. scott busts through the wall into the laboratory is because they forgot to build a door into the set.

and don't forget, I'm playing scrabble all this time as well. one of the kids I played with told me he was watching grease. I told him I was watching rocky horror. he said the original? I said, as opposed to what? he said, you must be an old fart. I think that's one of the first times I've ever felt old. have they really re-made it? that's hard to imagine.

indulgence. I figure I'm allowed. in a few days, my whole world changes, again.

so anyway, it really is time I got myself to bed. riding up to oakland tomorrow to see ariana for the first time in way too long. I can't wait.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))