sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the chronic and the compost heap ~ March 27, 2002 - 1:16 a.m.

feeling much better today. just decided not to let things bother me, and that seems to be working pretty well.

nice when you can manage that.

the getting-together-to-talk thing didn't happen, which I kind of had a feeling it wouldn't. he did stop in while I was out, though, and left a post-it note on my journal that said I'm sorry.

I called him and we talked briefly, made plans to try to do the talking-in-person thing tomorrow.

and it was beautiful today, warmer than it's been in a couple of weeks. I sat in the sun on the deck at pergolesi and read the san francisco chronicle, also known as "the chronic" in these parts.

the chronicle is my flavor of choice when it comes to fascist corporate dead tree newsmedia.

mainly because of jon carroll, who rocks my world. and also miss manners.

when I say that I read the chronic, I mean the front section and the datebook section, which as far as I'm concerned are the only ones worth bothering with. first I skim through all the news stories in the front section, reading the few stories that seem worth the time or intrigue me in some way. then I flip through the datebook and check out the shows playing in the city, read the comics, and then hit the juicy back page, which is where jon carroll, miss manners, and bizarro all live.

you should really check jon carroll out if you haven't. he comes under the heading of people I would really like to have coffee with someday.

after my paper-and-coffee indulgence, I came home and cleaned the kitchen, finally composting the wilted vegetables from the fridge and the green fuzzy remains of three loaves of bread.

there's something really satsfying about composting. that whole little microcosm of various insects that work so hard at breaking it all down into rich brown soil.

remind me to tell you about fertile ground sometime. it's a project of mine I'm trying hard to move from the purely conceptual stage to the actual construction stage. I don't want to say too much about it until I've actually started to put it together.

how's that for a tease?

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))