sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


secrets and lies in the light of day ~ june 21, 2001 - 3:51 p.m.

I've got to tell you something fucked up...

that was how I began, with a leap, knowing that once I'd said that there'd be no turning back.

and it was time for me to tell her.

past time.

before she and I became any closer.

before the attraction energy between us began to manifest.

before I choked to death on the secret.

I tried to tell him that I was no good at secrets, at holding back. I don't have any more karmic room for deep, dark secrets... I tried to tell him. at the time.

I knew I wouldn't be able to hold on to it forever.

last fall, when you two were still together...

she was already calling me her angel.

you were in boston...

it was almost too late.

and I had sex with him.

I have rules, you know? and one of them is that I do not mess around with people in monogamous relationships.

last fall, I broke that rule. once.

it's been weighing on me ever since, a dark karma hanging over me. when I came back from the road, they'd broken up. I wondered then if she knew. but no. and then I realized that I was going to have to tell her, even if it made her hate me. even if it ruined my reputation in the small town I call home.

it was just the right thing to do.

so last night I finally told her-- and she didn't hate me, not at all. at least you had the courage to tell me...

she called him up on his cell phone, tore into him about the lies, the deceit. he kept hanging up. she kept calling back. I sat feeling wrecked and helpless on the couch, and talked to her, sister to sister, between phone calls.

he's angry at me. I saw him in town just hours before I told her. he would have liked some warning. or something. he said the only reason he didn't tell her was out of respect for my friendship with her. he didn't want to cause a rift. he said.

he also said that I came on to him.

I am no innocent party, I made that very clear, but I was no instigator either.

I haven't seen him yet. I'll probably run into him in town somewhere. showdown at the blue sun cafe.

it wasn't about you, I could tell him, it was about my connection to her.

which is true, but won't make much of a difference. he's an immature leo, and he knows how to hold a grudge.

all I know is that I'm finally right with a sister I care about. finally right with my heart.

and that's exactly where I need to be.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))