sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


the journey begins... ~ October 5, 2002 - 5:10 p.m.

'bout time I got back to y'all, after that last epic entry...

first things first: I began my moon the day I left for singapore. you can stop holding your breath, y'all. praise be... it just was *not* the right time to be dealing with that flavor of stress.

and you know what's funny? my sister was having false pregnancy symptoms at the same time. I wonder if we're both picking up on someone *else's* pregnant energy...

so I'm in singapore! and it's being a good adventure. I did have one major crisis so far, though, which I'm still somewhat in the middle of. the lovely and expensive digital camera which was donated to TravelingEd for me to take with me, has been the victim of a bottle of tea which spilled in my bag-- that's right, I broke it.

it's good and broken. I took it down to the olympus service center in singapore, and they say it'll be really expensive to fix and I'd be better off buying a new one.

but there's no money for a new one.

so we're trying to figure out what to do. I bought a disposable camera today, because there were just too many good things to take pictures of-- like the chinese acrobat kids at the market-- but that gets complex... developing film, and then either getting ahold of a scanner, or fedexing photos to the states-- it gets expensive fast, and we have, like, *no* budget.

I did get the e-mail address of the head guy at olympus singapore, and I just sent an e-mail throwing us at their mercy and begging for a donated camera. it's a long shot, but what the hell. there's going to be a few hundred disappointed schoolkids if I can't send photos of my journey.

it is a good adventure, though. the teacher who's school I'm visiting next week, mark, who's this incredibly nice canadian guy, picked me up at the airport and gave me crash space for the night in him and his girlfriend's lovely condo. it was nice to get a good night's sleep and not have to deal with orientation and jet lag at the same time.

so yesterday, I ran around dealing with the whole camera drama and applying for my laos visa. by the time I got around to finding a bed for the night, I was so exhausted that I took the first one I came to-- a dingy place called "waffle's homestay". I had my own room, but it was like something a heroin addict would squat in (15 sing dollars-- roughly 8 bucks)... so today I moved a "ah chew's hotel" two doors down. I've got a bed in a hostel-style room I share with three others for S$10, something like six bucks. it's a bit cheerier, though.

I don't have the time or energy for a lot of detail at the moment, but I'll get back to you with more soon. I'm still just trying to take all this in.

wish me well, y'all-- and invoke ganesha (or whomever you choose) for the removal of broken-camera-obstacles...

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))