sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


singapore slinging ~ October 8, 2002 - 8:14 p.m.

I visited my first overseas classroom today, a deeply sweet bunch of third graders at the canadian international school. being an international school, these kids are from all over-- singapore, japan, korea, canada, switzerland, the US-- and they're like kids from everywhere, giggly and whispery and full of energy and excitement. it was so much fun. they asked me a bunch of questions, and I asked them a bunch of questions, and at the end they treated me like a rock star and asked me to autograph their journals.

so sweet. this is not a bad gig, not at all. and it's deeply luxurious to have it all paid for-- I do have an agreement with the organization to go on the cheap, but that's really not hard. singapore's the most expensive country in southeast asia, but it's still incredibly cheap as compared to what I know. I've really got to come back here on my own dime sometime and just explore for a good, long time.

I saw a copy of a magazine at the hotel called "expat", and their logo is living well is the best revenge. made me giggle.

I'm getting a bit burnt on the big city, though, feeling a little rundown. I think I'm fighting off a cold, which is hardly surprising considering all the new bugs my body has to adjust to, so I'm taking good care and lots of vitamin c. early night tonight. last thing I need is to get sick.

tomorrow I finally get to go pick up the new digital camera, and then I'm heading to the zoo, which should be fun. it's a world-class zoo with a "no cage" policy, so hopefully it won't be as depressing as zoos tend to be.

thursday I'm heading out to kuala lumpur-- or KL, as folks here tend to call it-- and I'm ready for the change of scene. singapore is just too packed with shopping malls. it's unbelievable. there's cool stuff hidden in the crevices, but every time you turn around you're in another damn shopping mall. I keep getting lost in them.

I just got an e-mail from my new irish friend, brendan, who's in KL. we're going to try to connect up at the hostel there.

remembering traveling before the internet?

amazing.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))