sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


temp girl world ~ 2001-01-23 - 13:00:10

I am out of it today... deep, dark, heavy dreams... I don't remember most of them, but I slept hard and had to drag myself up from a long way down to find my way into morning. especially hard when you have to wake up before dawn for a job you don't care about.

I realize that most people have jobs they don't care about, I've just managed not to be one of them for quite some time. that's why this whole thing has been so hard on me.

my job is really pretty amusing when I look at it from certain angles. not to be confused with entertaining. I spend most of the day on the internet. I try to restrict myself to checking my e-mail only four or five times a day. I've been reading cubiclegirl's diary-- I think anyone who works in an office should. hell, anyone should, she rocks. I've also discovered a great timewaster-- queendom.com-- which has hundreds of little tests you can take to tell you about the inside of your head. there's something deeply amusing about sitting at a fancy desk at the front of a fancy office answering the phone in my lovely phone voice while simultaneously answering questions about how often I practice bondage.

I've also opened an account at shutterfly.com, where you can store photos and do fun stuff with them. I'm putting together a photo album of my lovers, just for fun. not neccesarily lovers in the ongoing sense of the term, more in the people-I-have-slept-with sense. oh yeah, wouldn't YOU like to know... sorry, kids, it's not for public consumption-- but I must say, I have slept with some BEAUTIFUL people... it cheers me up here in my little temp receptionist world.

so what is my job, really? well, I sit at this fancy desk by the elevators on the 15th floor of a big, fancy office building. I wear one of those phone-operator headsets like they wear on tv commercials to show you that operators-are-standing-by. when the phone rings (it beeps, actually), I push a button and say "goodmorningpricewaterhousecoopers" in my lovely phone voice. anyone who hears it is astonished. it's nothing like the deep, gravelly voice I have in real life. as my friend sara once said-- "the long hair might throw me off, but the second you opened your mouth I'd know you were a dyke."

people tell me who they're calling for and I look up the extension on the list, and then I push the buttons that connect them. there's about a hundred different extensions. sometimes the person's on the phone, then I push the buttons that put them into voicemail. sometimes I'm asked to page someone, which I do in my lovely phone voice. I sign for packages, then call the mailroom guys to tell them they're there. the mailroom guys are nice.

I'm also in charge of buzzing people through a door which is about 20 feet away from me. people go through that door all day long. I'm usually pretty on top of it, but if I'm doing three other things at once, sometimes I'm a second late. my first day, this middle-aged-white-male type guy had to stand there for half a second before I hit the button, and he said "you need to be fast, kid." I muttered "and you need to BITE me," as the door closed on his ass.

that's about the sum total of my job. in the afternoon I get to change it up and say "goodAFTERNOONpricewaterhousecoopers". I drink a lot of espresso on my breaks. I usually take my breaks in an empty cubicle across from the break room where I can look through the big windows. the city actually looks pretty cool from up here. kinda gritty and post-industrial, lots of cool old buildings that are falling apart because no one wants to maintain them. the milwaukee river runs through the middle of it all, and in the winter it thaws and refreezes over and over so the ice is frozen into all these funky mosaic patterns.

That's my job. I'm paid pretty well for it.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))