sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


giving thanks ~ November 25, 2001 - 12:36 a.m.

thanksgiving was beautiful, it always is. my fourth year having thanksgiving with the whole blue sun extended family. warm, beautiful people, amazing food, laughter, gorgeous children and mellow dogs.

we make a circle before dinner, hold hands and go around, each of us saying what we're thankful for. I gave thanks for all the traveling I've done this year, all of my adventures on the road, but mostly I gave thanks that the road has always brought me home to this place, these people.

ozone gave thanks for the crash and burn of his life, without which he would not have learned the meaning of community-- and people were thankful for all kinds of things, but again and again it echoed, our thanks for this beautiful community we've created, a community that nourishes us and sustains our spirits.

and then the FOOD-- oh my lord, the full on thanksgiving spread, all the trimmings, and all vegan. we ate and talked and ate and talked. I made balloon animals for the kids, who ran around and around, crawling under the tables and chasing each other from room to room.

after dinner, some cats got together and jammed on guitars and drum, and folks joined in where they knew the words, danced and rocked babies and smiled at each other with the easy joy of just being there together, in such good company.

ozone was quiet and a little heavy, I'm sad that I've never known anything like this before, he told me. he said it was like the ache of using muscles long atrophied. but he loved it; I'd known he would. you couldn't share thanksgiving with us without feeling the love.

we took turns in the dishroom, cleared and wiped the tables, swept and vacuumed the floor. we hugged each other goodbye and headed off into the leaves-and-woodsmoke smell of the november night, filled with good food and love.

I do believe that thanksgiving has become my favorite holiday. since coming here, since finding the town that showed me what home and family really mean. since awakening to just how much I really have to be thankful for.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))