sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


a place of love ~ October 12, 2001 - 1:24 a.m.

I don't know what to write about, I just feel like writing.

we just came back from seeing "training day"-- entertaining. I'll see just about anything with ethan hawke and denzel washington.

I've discovered something, though-- I'm no longer inured to violence. it's not easy for me to watch someone being shot, being beaten. even in the movies, even on tv. I'm walking around wide open to all the pain in the world, and it's not easy.

but it's the kind of person I want to be.

driving down from port townsend, washington, I saw clearcuts so massive that I didn't realize what I was looking at for a moment, entire mountainsides like open wounds scarred with logging roads. I started crying, deep hard sobs pushing up through my chest as I held on to the steering wheel and felt those mountains, those trees, all the creatures who lived in that place.

and then on the way up from down south, on my last trip with ozone... we passed a ranch, I was reading my book, and I looked up because the stench was so thick in the air, urine and feces so powerful it was choking me and I thought those cows can't be living in decent conditions and I looked up to see, and what I saw almost made me scream. "oh my god-- oh my god!" I shrieked, tears running down my face. acres and acres of cows, all packed in on top of each other, thousands and thousands of them, some lying on their sides, looking dead, the rest standing knee deep in their own crap, and I could feel the waves of pain coming off those fields, I could imagine how the ammonia must burn their eyes and noses and throats.

this is one of the many reasons why I haven't eaten meat in a decade. I cannot be complicit in that suffering. eating meat is internalizing pain, sorrow, and grief.

and yes, I feel as much for my fellow humans.

this is a hard world, and terrifying times, but I can't shut myself off from it. I've done that already. I was hard and numb for years, unable to reach out to the people around me, unable to feel anyone's pain but my own.

I can't go back to that.

yes, it's hard. yes, I know that I can't fix the world's problems. but I believe that my ability to feel, to care, to give love to those I share this planet with is what will ultimately heal what is broken.

I do what I can, I send my love out into the universe. it always comes back to me, ten times over-- so I figure I must be doing something right.

everything matters, it all matters, even the little stuff. care for your fellow humans, love the planet you are a part of and the creatures which inhabit it. It's hard as hell, I know, but it's really pretty simple, when you think about it.

it's really past time we started to move from a place of love. time we started caring for one another.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))