sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


rock and roll sushi and renaissance faire ~ October 15, 2001 - 1:17 a.m.

it's been a good couple of days... friday, ozone said he had a surprise for me. we got on the motorcycle and he took me up to the city-- to the Rainbow Market, a "worker-owned" cooperative natural food store. it was amazing. rows and rows of bulk bins. shelves filled with vegan pastries. food I'd never even seen before (wheatgrass pasta?!)... it was vegan organic girl heaven. we wandered around in there for ages, discussed the logistics of going up to the city on a regular basis just to grocery shop.

we went to dinner at "herbivore"... a somewhat yuppified and yet entirely vegan restaurant on the edge of the mission district. much as I can't stand what gentrification is doing to the mission, I will support any restaurant where I can eat ANYTHING ON THE MENU. hell yeah. vegan organic girl scores.

yesterday we went to the ren fair-- my first one ever. yeah, I know... somehow I just never got around to it before. it was good fun, and a little boost to my ego-- I was getting checked out all day, by boys and girls. apparently, long red hair does it for ren fair folks. go figure.

then we went to rock and roll sushi-- which was highly surreal. we go out for sushi a lot... I can always get yummy vegan sushi, and fishy sushi is one of the only animal-flesh type things ozone eats anymore. he decided to stop eating other kinds of meat when I fessed up that it does, actually, bother me to watch him do it. it's not something I usually tell people, because I don't want them to feel uncomfortable about their eating choices-- I feel that what you put into your body is an awfully personal choice. I'm not the lecturing type of vegan.

but when he asked, I had to admit that it bothered me. it bothers me to watch anyone eat meat, although I deal with it so constantly that it's pretty sublimated. I told him that there was no way I'd ever ask him to stop eating meat for me.

he did anyway. he still eats sushi, though-- and somehow, it doesn't bother me to watch. I mean, I know fishing isn't exactly animal-friendly... but there's such an art to the preparation of sushi. I'm fascinated by the beauty of slices of sashimi. maybe that's hypocritical, I don't know. it's not like I eat it.

so, we went out for "rock and roll sushi"-- which is something our favorite sushi place (-lots- of vegetarian rolls) does the last couple of hours before close. he'd told me about it, but I still wasn't prepared. they play -really- loud club music, turn on disco lights and a smoke machine (no shit!)-- and serve sushi.

the place was full of ripped stanford students running up huge bills and standing on their chairs to slam "sake bombs". it was like spring break, only with sushi.

highly weird. I've never been a part of that whole culture. I was a crazy little punk rock chick in high school, when I could have easily drunk those stanford kids under the table, and I was sober by the time I got to college. 'cause, well, I realized if I didn't quit drinking I was gonna die. and I'd finally figured out that I wanted to live.

sitting there, feeling like an anthropologist as I watched a just-turned-21 girl standing on her chair and working her way towards alcohol poisoning-- I realized I haven't had a drink in almost a decade. unbelievable.

so yeah, it was an experience. I'm glad I did rock and roll sushi-- once. it's not something I ever feel the need to do again.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))