sign the brand-spankin'-new guestbook...

the old-school guestbook archives

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

my amazon wish list...

my favorite astrologer...

my favorite artist...

yerba mate revolution!

erowid: a travel guide for interior journeys...

no more war:

MoveOn.org

United for Peace and Justice

True Majority

seek the truth:

Common Dreams

Unamerican Activities

The Nation

people I adore, diaries I read:
rev.raikes
ariana
cubiclegirl
epiphany
glitter333
laurakay
wammo

the music:
the asylum street spankers
backyard tire fire
blue highway
bill camplin
wendy colonna
freedom tribe
joules graves
guy forsyth band
hamsa lila
hanuman
libby kirkpatrick
leftover salmon
pamela means
medeski martin & wood
the motet
the nice outfit
nickel creek
open road
rose polenzani
railroad earth
south austin jug band
string cheese incident
taarka
tha musemeant
the devil makes three
tim o'brien band
trolley
wild sage
keller williams
yonder mountain string band






...the ones I love best...


all who yonder are not lost ~ February 17, 2002 - 3:40 a.m.

yonder mountain.

oh yes.

they played the catalyst tonight, and it was so what I needed.

and would you believe, the catalyst is walking distance from my house?

there's something about bluegrass.

I couldn't tell you what, but it seems to sing through my blood, embedded in my soul on some kind of very nearly primal level.

a good jam band can just lift me up and dance me all night long. it opens me, fills me with light. I let go and just dance. I danced blisters into my bare feet. they'll be a little sore for the next few days, but you'll never tell me it isn't worth it.

I started out in the middle of the crowd, but by the end of the first set I was in the front row, drawn by some magnetic force to dance at the feet of these boys who create such magic with fingertips and strings, satin harmonies and hearts shining in their eyes.

such love. such joy. I can still feel it humming through me, tingling in my fingertips as I type. that joyful energy still thrumming in my ribcage. dripping sweat and grinning like a wildcat, I danced on waves of picking so sweet they carried me, floating, flying, inches above the floor. I danced and spun, drinking in the wild smiles and shining eyes of the joyful kids who shared that space with me, all of us raised up together and dancing, and dancing.

dancing as if we could save the world all night long.

as if the music, the love, the light in our eyes was all that could ever matter.

and me, I grinned up at jeff, who I've got a crush on as big as all outdoors. and not just because I've got a sweet spot for mando players.

I've had the pleasure of feeding these guys, at high sierra, at strawberry, I've gotten to talk with them in bits and snatches, to flirt with jeff (who gives really nice hugs)-- but you know, I think this is the first time I've ever gotten to see them play a show all the way through. I'm always working at festivals, see. and so often too broke for shows I'm not gifted into. I am so utterly delighted to have finally had the privelige. so filled with light.

I offer it up, this joy, this light, this love. every moment. may it be of benefit to all sentient beings.

previously... * and then...



(((rings)))